SolarSoftwares
Find Software →

100 products researched 2,422 sourced facts Verified September 2026 Methodology

Solar design & simulation · Shading & irradiance

Shading analysis in solar software

Which solar software has shading analysis?

17 of the 100 products we researched carry this capability, 16 of them at the depth we code as advanced. 3 explicitly do not offer it, which is a useful fact in its own right. For 6 more we searched the vendor’s own pages and found no statement either way.

Working out how much of the sun a given panel actually sees once trees, chimneys, parapets, neighbouring buildings and the horizon are accounted for — and what that costs in annual yield.

Verified against the vendor’s own pages.

Why it matters when you’re buying

Shading is the single largest source of the gap between a modelled yield and a metered one, and it is the number a customer will hold you to. It is also the capability with the widest quality spread in this dataset: the same two words cover a hand-drawn obstruction and a ray-traced irradiance model.

7 of the 17 products that carry it publish a price you can check before contacting sales.

What vendors call it instead

Every phrase below appeared on a vendor’s own site during research and was mapped onto the single canonical capability Shading analysis. The count is how many products used that exact wording — which is why searching for any one of them finds only a fraction of the market.

What “basic” and “advanced” mean here

Depth is coded per capability, not on a universal scale, so “advanced” means something specific to this one feature and nothing at all across features.

Basic

Obstructions can be placed and they reduce the yield figure, but the reduction is derived from a simplified geometric model rather than a time-stepped irradiance calculation.

Advanced

Per-module, time-stepped shading with a published method — the tool can tell you which module loses what, at which hour, and why.

Products that offer it

Not a ranking — no product on this site is scored. Ordered by the depth we could verify, then alphabetically.

Verified at advanced depth 16

Aurora Solar

Aurora Solar Inc.

Design & simulation · Web

Cloud residential solar design-and-sales platform that turns satellite/LIDAR imagery into a 3D roof model, a shaded production estimate and a signable proposal in one session.

Pricing USD 159 Per seat
Sept 2026

Design & simulation · Desktop

DNV's Windows desktop yield-assessment tool for utility-scale PV — irregular terrain, 3D shade, sub-module electrical mismatch, sub-hourly and multi-year simulation, in-app scripting, and cloud-burst calculation — built on DNV's own continual-validation methodology.

Pricing Not publicly disclosed Quote only Free trial
Sept 2026

EagleView

EagleView Technologies

Imagery & remote survey · Web · iOS · Android

A property-imagery and measurement business that sells solar contractors per-property roof reports — geometry, pitch, azimuth, obstructions, shading, TSRF and Solar Access Values — plus an auto-generated PV design product on top of them.

Pricing USD 32.75 Per report
Sept 2026

HELIOS 3D

Helios 3D (a product of STÖHR+SAUER CAD- und Computersystem GmbH)

Design & simulation

German engineering software for utility-scale ground-mount PV that runs inside Autodesk Civil 3D — TIN-terrain-accurate rack and tracker placement, per-rack local grading, full electrical layout with cable and voltage-drop calculation, single-line diagrams, a yield estimate on Meteotest data, and a VR viewer — sold by quote only, with no price published in either English or German.

Pricing Not publicly disclosed Quote only
Sept 2026

HelioScope

Aurora Solar Inc. (acquired Folsom Labs, 2019)

Design & simulation · Web

Cloud commercial-and-industrial PV design and simulation tool — rooftop, carport, ground mount and storage in one project — sold per seat, with a stated accuracy target relative to PVsyst and a PVsyst export on the top tier.

Pricing USD 159 Capacity tiered Free trial
Sept 2026

PlantPredict

Terabase Energy

Design & simulation

Cloud, physics-based energy-yield modelling for utility-scale PV — sub-hourly resolution, full 3D ray-traced shade on cloud GPUs, an open REST API and Python SDK, with a published per-user price and an unusually detailed public record of independent engineering reviews.

Pricing Could not verify
Sept 2026

PV*SOL premium

Valentin Software GmbH

Design & simulation · Desktop

Windows desktop PV design and simulation package built around 3D shading — model the buildings, extrude them from a cadastral map, place up to 7,500 mounted modules, and get a yield forecast, a circuit diagram and a customer-facing report, for a published €845/year named-user licence.

Pricing EUR 845 Per seat Free trial
Sept 2026

Design & simulation

AutoCAD-based design software for utility-scale ground-mount solar — terrain-adapted automated layouts, slope and grading analysis, 3D cabling and stringing, BOM and construction-ready CAD deliverables, sold by quote only.

Pricing Not publicly disclosed Quote only
Sept 2026

PVGIS

European Commission, Joint Research Centre (JRC)

Design & simulation · Web

The European Commission's free web tool and API for solar radiation and PV performance anywhere on Earth — grid-connected, tracking and off-grid performance, monthly, daily and hourly radiation, and a downloadable TMY — with no account, no key and no usage restriction.

Pricing Could not verify Free tier, no time limit
Unverifiable

PVsyst

PVsyst SA

Design & simulation · Desktop

The Windows desktop PV simulation package that most lenders treat as the reference yield model — grid-connected, stand-alone and pumping systems, 3D near-shading, hourly and sub-hourly, sold as a named annual licence in Swiss francs.

Pricing CHF 700 Per seat Free trial
Sept 2026

Pylon

Pylon

Proposals & sales · Web

An Australian solar and battery design and proposal tool sold per project on prepaid credits rather than per seat, with an optional per-user CRM bolted alongside it.

Pricing USD 4.00 Per project Limited free allowance
Sept 2026

Permitting & plan sets

A tiered done-for-you design desk that works inside your own Scanifly account — from a 3-hour remote site model up to a plan set with engineering stamps in under 48 hours — built around drone-derived 3D models rather than satellite imagery.

Pricing Not publicly disclosed Quote only
Sept 2026

SolarEdge Designer

SolarEdge Technologies

Design & simulation · Web

SolarEdge's free browser-based PV design and proposal tool — HD imagery, AI-assisted 3D roof modelling, automatic panel placement, automatic stringing and DC cabling, and a customer proposal with financial analysis — with no licence or subscription fee.

Pricing Free Free Free tier, no time limit
Sept 2026

Design & simulation · Web

Cloud PV design and energy-yield simulation built directly on Solargis's own bankable solar and meteo dataset — 15-minute time series over 30+ years, a 3D energy system designer, and ray-traced simulation with the Perez all-weather sky model — at a published €12,000 subscription.

Pricing EUR 12000 Per seat
Sept 2026

Solargraf

Enphase Energy (acquired Sofdesk, Jan 2021)

Proposals & sales

A cloud-based solar design and proposal platform owned and sold by Enphase Energy, the microinverter manufacturer.

Pricing Could not verify
Unverifiable

SolarHub CRM

Glytrix

CRM & lead management · Web

An Australian solar CRM with design, proposals and invoicing built in, metered on a monthly token allowance rather than on seats or projects.

Pricing AUD? 0 Token metered Free tier, no time limit
Sept 2026

Offered 1

Products that explicitly do not offer it

The rarest kind of fact in this dataset: a vendor stating a limit in its own words. It is not a criticism — a tool that doesn’t do this may be the right tool for a different job.

Not established

6 products make no statement either way

We searched these vendors’ own pages and found neither a claim nor a denial. That is recorded as “not found”, which is different from “not offered” — the capability may well exist and simply not be documented. We never convert silence into a no.

Where to go next

Frequently asked

Which solar software has shading analysis?

17 of the 100 products we researched carry shading analysis, 16 of them at the depth we code as advanced. 3 explicitly do not offer it. Verified against vendor pages on 28 September 2026.

What is shading analysis in solar software?

Working out how much of the sun a given panel actually sees once trees, chimneys, parapets, neighbouring buildings and the horizon are accounted for — and what that costs in annual yield.

What else is shading analysis called?

Vendors name it 4 different ways on their own sites, including “Shading analysis”, “Shade analysis”, “Shading / TSRF / solar access output”, “Solar Access Values”. We normalise all of them onto one canonical capability so they can be compared.