DNV SolarFarmer
by DNV · not published on the product page (DNV group HQ is Norway; not evidenced here)
Design & simulation · Software
- Entry price
- Not publicly disclosed
- Charged
- Quote only
- Try before buying
- Free trial
- Runs on
- Desktop
- Built for
- Utility-scale
- Named integrations
- 3
- Last verified
Vendor site checked
against the vendor’s own pages
What is DNV SolarFarmer?
DNV's Windows desktop yield-assessment tool for utility-scale PV — irregular terrain, 3D shade, sub-module electrical mismatch, sub-hourly and multi-year simulation, in-app scripting, and cloud-burst calculation — built on DNV's own continual-validation methodology.
It does not publish a price; we checked the vendor’s own site on 28 September 2026. We recorded 22 verified capabilities and 4 the vendor claims but we could not confirm.
Verified against the vendor’s own pages.
The two questions vendors rarely answer
Free or paid?
Free trial offered
Not publicly disclosed
Dependencies & lock-in
Has platform constraints
Windows 10, 3GHz+, 16GB RAM, 1920x1200
Our editorial assessment — not a user review
Who it is for — and who it is not for
For yield engineers and IEs at developers, lenders and EPCs who want a model backed by an assurance firm's operational dataset and are comfortable in a scripted desktop tool. Not for rooftop, residential or C&I sales work, not for macOS, and not for anyone who needs to see a price before talking to someone — the "View pricing" link leads to a JavaScript storefront that serves no product content to a non-JS reader.
Editorial assessment from the research recordSourcednv.comVerified
Pricing
DNV SolarFarmer does not publish a price. Pricing is quote-only.
We searched the vendor’s own site on 28 September 2026 and found no figure. That is one of 51 products in this dataset that publish nothing.
Free trial
Sourcednv.comVerifiedfirst-hand
Prices are shown exactly as the vendor writes them and are never converted between currencies — a converted figure would be a number we invented. How we verify pricing
Feature detail
29 normalised data points across 7 capability areas. Every row carries its evidence state; hover any chip for what that state means.
Solar design & simulation 7 verified 3 claimed 2 not found
| Capability | Value | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Array design | ||
| Automatic module layout ⓘ | Advanced | Verified |
| Ground-mount / tracker layout ⓘ | Advanced | Verified |
| Electrical design | ||
| Electrical mismatch modelling ⓘ | — | Verified |
| Single-line diagram ⓘ | — | Not found |
| Interoperability | ||
| CAD export (DXF/DWG) ⓘ | — | Verified |
| Shading & irradiance | ||
| Shading analysis ⓘ | Advanced | Verified |
| Site capture | ||
| Remote site capture from imagery ⓘ | Advanced | Verified |
| Storage design | ||
| Battery sizing and modelling ⓘ | — | Not found |
| Yield simulation | ||
| Annual energy yield simulation ⓘ | Advanced | Verified |
| Bankable / IE-accepted simulation report ⓘ | Basic | Vendor claim |
| Loss and uncertainty modelling (P50/P90) ⓘ | Basic | Vendor claim |
| Named weather / irradiance data source ⓘ | basic | Vendor claim |
Estimation & financial modelling 1 not found
| Capability | Value | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Financial modelling | ||
| ROI / payback calculation ⓘ | — | Not found |
Reporting, data & BI 1 claimed
| Capability | Value | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Output | ||
| Report / deliverable export ⓘ | Basic | Vendor claim |
Integrations & extensibility 3 verified
| Capability | Value | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Extensibility | ||
| Public API ⓘ | Advanced | Verified |
| Public API ⓘ | Not offered | Verified |
| Named integrations | ||
| Named, documented integrations ⓘ | 3 | Verified |
Platform & deployment 3 verified
| Capability | Value | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Deployment | ||
| Delivery model | software | Verified |
| Desktop OS support ⓘ | Windows 10, 3GHz+, 16GB RAM, 1920x1200 | Verified |
| Web application | No | Verified |
Pricing & commercial terms 3 verified
| Capability | Value | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing transparency | ||
| Price published ⓘ | Not published | Verified |
| Pricing model | quote-only | Verified |
| Trial | ||
| Free tier | free-trial | Verified |
Market fit & availability 6 verified
| Capability | Value | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Availability | ||
| Geographic availability | global | Verified |
| Buyer | ||
| Target buyer ⓘ | engineering-firm; developer | Verified |
| Lifecycle | ||
| Product status | active | Verified |
| Segment | ||
| C&I ⓘ | No | Verified |
| Residential ⓘ | No | Verified |
| Utility-scale ⓘ | — | Verified |
AI capabilities
No AI claim on the vendor’s own pages
We found no explicit AI or machine-learning claim. Words like “smart”, “one-click automatic” and “magic” are automation claims and are deliberately not counted as AI — coding them as AI would fabricate a capability the vendor never asserted.
Integrations
3 named, documented integrations.
- SRTM
- COLLADA
- Veracity
A logo wall is not an integration list. Only named, documented products are counted.
Collected from users — none yet
Verified user reviews
No verified user reviews yet
We publish only reviews we collect and verify ourselves. No review of DNV SolarFarmer has cleared identity verification and moderation yet, so there is no score — and there will be none until eight verified reviews exist.
Third-party ratings from G2, Capterra and TrustRadius are never mixed into our score or our structured data; where we cite them they are attributed and dated. How our review system works · Write a review
Third-party review presence recorded during research: G2, Capterra, TrustRadius. Cited in prose only, never in our markup.
Compare DNV SolarFarmer
Only pairs where the database holds a real, stateable difference are published. Every one of these was generated from the same feature data shown above.
DNV SolarFarmer alternatives
All alternativesProducts in Design & simulation, free and lower-cost options first.
Easy PV
Midsummer
Design & simulation · Web
SolarEdge Designer
SolarEdge Technologies
Design & simulation · Web
SAM (System Advisor Model)
National Laboratory of the Rockies (NLR) — formerly the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
Design & simulation · Desktop
Explore what DNV SolarFarmer does
Each link shows every product we researched with that capability or selling to that buyer, so you can see who else is in the running.
Capabilities it carries
Who DNV sells it to
Frequently asked
How much does DNV SolarFarmer cost?
DNV SolarFarmer does not publish a price. We searched the vendor's own site on 28 September 2026 and found no figure.
Is DNV SolarFarmer free?
Free trial.
What does DNV SolarFarmer integrate with?
3 named, documented integrations: SRTM, COLLADA, Veracity.
Sources and verification
Primary source
Data coverage
22 verified · 4 vendor-claimed · 3 not found
76% of the 29 applicable data points were confirmed on DNV’s own pages.
Last verified
Vendors change pricing and features without notice. Check the vendor’s own page before deciding.