Easy PV
Midsummer
Design & simulation · Web
Comparison
29 differences · 6 identical
The differences that matter most
They differ most on price published. DNV SolarFarmer publishes Not publicly disclosed; Reslink Energy publishes USD 2000. They use different pricing models, so those figures do not compare directly.
We do not name a winner. Below are 29 differences drawn from the same sourced dataset that powers both product pages.
Verified against the vendor’s own pages.
These cannot be compared on a single number
DNV SolarFarmer is priced quote-only and Reslink Energy is priced capacity-tiered. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.
DNV SolarFarmer
Not publicly disclosed
Quote only
Reslink Energy
USD 2000
2000 USD per year
Capacity tiered
Size ceiling: 100 kW / 500 kW / 5 MW / 100 MW
Prices are shown exactly as each vendor writes them and are never converted between currencies.
29 differences, ordered by how much they are likely to matter — pricing transparency first, then capabilities the vendor explicitly confirms or denies.
| Capability | DNV SolarFarmer | Reslink Energy |
|---|---|---|
| Solar design & simulation | ||
| Battery sizing and modelling | — Not found | Advanced Verified |
| Single-line diagram | — Not found | Advanced Verified |
| 3D roof and obstruction model | — Could not read | Advanced Verified |
| Annual energy yield simulation | Advanced Verified | Basic Vendor claim |
| CAD export (DXF/DWG) | Yes Verified | Yes Vendor claim |
| Electrical mismatch modelling | Yes Verified | — Could not read |
| Loss and uncertainty modelling (P50/P90) | Basic Vendor claim | Advanced Verified |
| Named weather / irradiance data source | basic Vendor claim | — Not found |
| On-site capture (drone / photogrammetry) | — Could not read | — Not found |
| Shading analysis | Advanced Verified | — Could not read |
| String sizing / stringing | — Could not read | Advanced Verified |
| Proposals & sales | ||
| Proposal document generation | — Could not read | Advanced Verified |
| Estimation & financial modelling | ||
| ROI / payback calculation | — Not found | Basic Vendor claim |
| Reporting, data & BI | ||
| Report / deliverable export | Basic Vendor claim | — Could not read |
| Integrations & extensibility | ||
| Named, documented integrations | 3 Verified | 0 Verified |
| Public API | Not offered Verified | Basic Vendor claim |
| Platform & deployment | ||
| Desktop OS support | Windows 10, 3GHz+, 16GB RAM, 1920x1200 Verified | — Could not read |
| Web application | No Verified | Yes Verified |
| Pricing & commercial terms | ||
| Price published | Not published Verified | Published Verified |
| Pricing model | quote-only Verified | capacity-tiered Verified |
| Free tier | free-trial Verified | demo-only Verified |
| Entry price | — Could not read | 2000 USD per year Verified |
| Currency | — Could not read | USD Verified |
| System size cap | — Could not read | 100 kW / 500 kW / 5 MW / 100 MW Verified |
| Market fit & availability | ||
| C&I | No Verified | Yes Verified |
| Geographic availability | global Verified | IN; global Verified |
| Residential | No Verified | Yes Verified |
| Target buyer | engineering-firm; developer Verified | small-installer; enterprise-epc Verified |
| Utility-scale | Yes Verified | No Verified |
Scroll the table sideways to see both products. The capability column stays in place.
Framed as requirements, not a verdict. Both descriptions come from the same data.
For yield engineers and IEs at developers, lenders and EPCs who want a model backed by an assurance firm's operational dataset and are comfortable in a scripted desktop tool. Not for rooftop, residential or C&I sales work, not for macOS, and not for anyone who needs to see a price before talking to someone — the "View pricing" link leads to a JavaScript storefront that serves no product content to a non-JS reader.
Full DNV SolarFarmer profileIndian rooftop and C&I EPCs whose sales reps carry a phone rather than a laptop and who want the design, BOM and proposal produced on the roof. It is not for anyone who needs a price they can rely on before they call sales: the same site publishes four mutually incompatible price schedules, in two currencies, on two billing periods, with two different sets of plan names — and a fifth figure appears on its Capterra listing. [✓ https://www.reslink.org/pricing/ · 2026-09-25]
Full Reslink Energy profileMidsummer
Design & simulation · Web
SolarEdge Technologies
Design & simulation · Web
National Laboratory of the Rockies (NLR) — formerly the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
Design & simulation · Desktop
They differ most on price published. In total we recorded 29 verified differences and 6 points where they are the same.
DNV SolarFarmer is priced quote-only and Reslink Energy is priced capacity-tiered. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.
We do not name a winner. Both are described from the same verified data, and which suits you depends on your requirements — the differences above are the facts; the choice is yours.
Last verified
Vendors change pricing and features without notice. Check the vendor’s own page before deciding.
This comparison is generated from the feature database, not written by hand. A pair is only published when the data holds at least five stateable differences — which is why 281 candidate pairs were refused. How comparisons are built