Easy PV
Midsummer
Design & simulation · Web
Comparison
34 differences · 5 identical
The differences that matter most
They differ most on price published. DNV SolarFarmer publishes Not publicly disclosed; Enact publishes USD 279. They use different pricing models, so those figures do not compare directly.
We do not name a winner. Below are 34 differences drawn from the same sourced dataset that powers both product pages.
Verified against the vendor’s own pages.
These cannot be compared on a single number
DNV SolarFarmer is priced quote-only and Enact is priced per-seat. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.
DNV SolarFarmer
Not publicly disclosed
Quote only
Enact
USD 279
279 USD per month billed annually
Per seat
2 seats included
10 projects
Prices are shown exactly as each vendor writes them and are never converted between currencies.
34 differences, ordered by how much they are likely to matter — pricing transparency first, then capabilities the vendor explicitly confirms or denies.
| Capability | DNV SolarFarmer | Enact |
|---|---|---|
| Solar design & simulation | ||
| Battery sizing and modelling | — Not found | Advanced Verified |
| Single-line diagram | — Not found | Advanced Verified |
| 3D roof and obstruction model | — Could not read | Advanced Verified |
| Annual energy yield simulation | Advanced Verified | Basic Vendor claim |
| Automatic module layout | Advanced Verified | Basic Vendor claim |
| Bankable / IE-accepted simulation report | Basic Vendor claim | — Not found |
| Electrical mismatch modelling | Yes Verified | — Could not read |
| Loss and uncertainty modelling (P50/P90) | Basic Vendor claim | Advanced Verified |
| Named weather / irradiance data source | basic Vendor claim | — Not found |
| On-site capture (drone / photogrammetry) | — Could not read | — Not found |
| Shading analysis | Advanced Verified | — Could not read |
| String sizing / stringing | — Could not read | Advanced Verified |
| Proposals & sales | ||
| Proposal document generation | — Could not read | Advanced Verified |
| Estimation & financial modelling | ||
| ROI / payback calculation | — Not found | Advanced Verified |
| Monitoring & operations | ||
| Production monitoring | — Could not read | Advanced Verified |
| Reporting, data & BI | ||
| Report / deliverable export | Basic Vendor claim | — Could not read |
| AI & automation | ||
| AI defect / anomaly detection | — Could not read | vendor-claimed Verified |
| Integrations & extensibility | ||
| Named, documented integrations | 3 Verified | 1 Verified |
| Platform prerequisite | — Could not read | AutoCAD (PVCAD plug-in tier) — or bundled at +$66/month Verified |
| Public API | Not offered Verified | Basic Vendor claim |
| Platform & deployment | ||
| Delivery model | software Verified | hybrid Verified |
| Desktop OS support | Windows 10, 3GHz+, 16GB RAM, 1920x1200 Verified | — Could not read |
| Web application | No Verified | Yes Verified |
| Pricing & commercial terms | ||
| Price published | Not published Verified | Partial Verified |
| Pricing model | quote-only Verified | per-seat Verified |
| Free tier | free-trial Verified | Not offered Verified |
| Entry price | — Could not read | 279 USD per month billed annually Verified |
| Currency | — Could not read | USD Verified |
| Project / design cap | — Could not read | 10 Verified |
| Seat cap | — Could not read | 2 Verified |
| Market fit & availability | ||
| C&I | No Verified | Yes Verified |
| Geographic availability | global Verified | US; global Verified |
| Residential | No Verified | Yes Verified |
| Target buyer | engineering-firm; developer Verified | — Could not read |
Scroll the table sideways to see both products. The capability column stays in place.
Framed as requirements, not a verdict. Both descriptions come from the same data.
For yield engineers and IEs at developers, lenders and EPCs who want a model backed by an assurance firm's operational dataset and are comfortable in a scripted desktop tool. Not for rooftop, residential or C&I sales work, not for macOS, and not for anyone who needs to see a price before talking to someone — the "View pricing" link leads to a JavaScript storefront that serves no product content to a non-JS reader.
Full DNV SolarFarmer profileInstallers who want one vendor for sales design, permit-grade engineering and post-install monitoring, and who will pay for those as three separate line items. It is not a single unified product: the "end-to-end platform" announced in January 2026 is, as sold on 2026-09-25, three priced modules — one of which still lives on a separate domain under a separate brand, with its own pricing pages that disagree with Enact's. [✓ https://enact.solar/providers/provider-pricing/ · 2026-09-25]
Full Enact profileMidsummer
Design & simulation · Web
SolarEdge Technologies
Design & simulation · Web
National Laboratory of the Rockies (NLR) — formerly the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
Design & simulation · Desktop
They differ most on price published. In total we recorded 34 verified differences and 5 points where they are the same.
DNV SolarFarmer is priced quote-only and Enact is priced per-seat. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.
We do not name a winner. Both are described from the same verified data, and which suits you depends on your requirements — the differences above are the facts; the choice is yours.
Last verified
Vendors change pricing and features without notice. Check the vendor’s own page before deciding.
This comparison is generated from the feature database, not written by hand. A pair is only published when the data holds at least five stateable differences — which is why 281 candidate pairs were refused. How comparisons are built