Easy PV
Midsummer
Design & simulation · Web
Comparison
35 differences · 4 identical
The differences that matter most
They differ most on price published. DNV SolarFarmer publishes Not publicly disclosed; Easy PV publishes GBP 0. They use different pricing models, so those figures do not compare directly.
We do not name a winner. Below are 35 differences drawn from the same sourced dataset that powers both product pages.
Verified against the vendor’s own pages.
These cannot be compared on a single number
DNV SolarFarmer is priced quote-only and Easy PV is priced per-seat. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.
DNV SolarFarmer
Not publicly disclosed
Quote only
Easy PV
GBP 0
0 GBP free tier; Pro GBP 35/month
Per seat
20 seats included
Prices are shown exactly as each vendor writes them and are never converted between currencies.
35 differences, ordered by how much they are likely to matter — pricing transparency first, then capabilities the vendor explicitly confirms or denies.
| Capability | DNV SolarFarmer | Easy PV |
|---|---|---|
| Solar design & simulation | ||
| Battery sizing and modelling | — Not found | Basic Verified |
| CAD export (DXF/DWG) | Yes Verified | — Not found |
| Ground-mount / tracker layout | Advanced Verified | — Not found |
| Single-line diagram | — Not found | Advanced Verified |
| 3D roof and obstruction model | — Could not read | Advanced Verified |
| Bankable / IE-accepted simulation report | Basic Vendor claim | — Not found |
| Electrical mismatch modelling | Yes Verified | — Could not read |
| Loss and uncertainty modelling (P50/P90) | Basic Vendor claim | Advanced Verified |
| Named weather / irradiance data source | basic Vendor claim | — Not found |
| On-site capture (drone / photogrammetry) | — Could not read | — Not found |
| Remote site capture from imagery | Advanced Verified | Basic Vendor claim |
| Shading analysis | Advanced Verified | — Could not read |
| String sizing / stringing | — Could not read | Advanced Verified |
| Proposals & sales | ||
| Proposal document generation | — Could not read | Advanced Verified |
| Permitting & engineering | ||
| Interconnection application | — Could not read | Advanced Verified |
| Structural analysis | — Could not read | Advanced Verified |
| Estimation & financial modelling | ||
| ROI / payback calculation | — Not found | Advanced Verified |
| Reporting, data & BI | ||
| Report / deliverable export | Basic Vendor claim | — Could not read |
| AI & automation | ||
| AI design assistance | — Could not read | not-claimed Not found |
| Integrations & extensibility | ||
| Public API | Not offered Verified | Basic Vendor claim |
| Platform & deployment | ||
| Delivery model | software Verified | hybrid Verified |
| Desktop OS support | Windows 10, 3GHz+, 16GB RAM, 1920x1200 Verified | — Could not read |
| Web application | No Verified | Yes Verified |
| Pricing & commercial terms | ||
| Price published | Not published Verified | Published Verified |
| Pricing model | quote-only Verified | per-seat Verified |
| Free tier | free-trial Verified | free-forever Verified |
| Entry price | — Could not read | 0 GBP free tier; Pro GBP 35/month Verified |
| Currency | — Could not read | GBP Verified |
| Seat cap | — Could not read | 20 Verified |
| Market fit & availability | ||
| C&I | No Verified | Yes Verified |
| Geographic availability | global Verified | UK Verified |
| Jurisdictional compliance capability | — Could not read | uk-mcs Verified |
| Residential | No Verified | Yes Verified |
| Target buyer | engineering-firm; developer Verified | small-installer Verified |
| Utility-scale | Yes Verified | No Verified |
Scroll the table sideways to see both products. The capability column stays in place.
Framed as requirements, not a verdict. Both descriptions come from the same data.
For yield engineers and IEs at developers, lenders and EPCs who want a model backed by an assurance firm's operational dataset and are comfortable in a scripted desktop tool. Not for rooftop, residential or C&I sales work, not for macOS, and not for anyone who needs to see a price before talking to someone — the "View pricing" link leads to a JavaScript storefront that serves no product content to a non-JS reader.
Full DNV SolarFarmer profileUK residential and light-commercial installers who already buy from Midsummer, need MCS-compliant self-consumption modelling and structural/wind-loading numbers, and want DNO paperwork handled in the same place as the design. It is not for anyone outside the UK — MCS, DNO and the Midsummer trade account are the whole point — and the free tier's commercial logic should be read plainly: the software is free because the distributor is selling the hardware. [✓ https://easy-pv.co.uk/ · 2026-09-25]
Full Easy PV profileMidsummer
Design & simulation · Web
SolarEdge Technologies
Design & simulation · Web
National Laboratory of the Rockies (NLR) — formerly the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
Design & simulation · Desktop
They differ most on price published. In total we recorded 35 verified differences and 4 points where they are the same.
DNV SolarFarmer is priced quote-only and Easy PV is priced per-seat. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.
We do not name a winner. Both are described from the same verified data, and which suits you depends on your requirements — the differences above are the facts; the choice is yours.
Last verified
Vendors change pricing and features without notice. Check the vendor’s own page before deciding.
This comparison is generated from the feature database, not written by hand. A pair is only published when the data holds at least five stateable differences — which is why 281 candidate pairs were refused. How comparisons are built