SolarSoftwares
Find Software →

100 products researched 2,422 sourced facts Verified September 2026 Methodology

Comparison

Aurora Solar vs DNV SolarFarmer

28 differences · 8 identical

Aurora SolarAurora Solar Inc.
Entry price
USD 159
Charged
Per seat
Free tier or trial
No free tier or trial
Named integrations
7
Verified data points
9
DNV SolarFarmerDNV
Entry price
Not publicly disclosed
Charged
Quote only
Free tier or trial
Free trial
Named integrations
3
Verified data points
8

The differences that matter most

  • Price published Partial Not published
  • Pricing model per-seat quote-only
  • Free tier Not offered free-trial

All 28 differences ↓

Aurora Solar or DNV SolarFarmer?

They differ most on price published. Aurora Solar publishes USD 159; DNV SolarFarmer publishes Not publicly disclosed. They use different pricing models, so those figures do not compare directly.

We do not name a winner. Below are 28 differences drawn from the same sourced dataset that powers both product pages.

Verified against the vendor’s own pages.

Pricing

These cannot be compared on a single number

Aurora Solar is priced per-seat and DNV SolarFarmer is priced quote-only. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.

Aurora Solar

USD 159

159 USD per user/month

Per seat

1 seat included

50 projects

DNV SolarFarmer

Not publicly disclosed

Quote only

Prices are shown exactly as each vendor writes them and are never converted between currencies.

Where they differ

28 differences, ordered by how much they are likely to matter — pricing transparency first, then capabilities the vendor explicitly confirms or denies.

Legend Verified Vendor claim Not offered Not found Could not read
Differences between Aurora Solar and DNV SolarFarmer
Capability Aurora Solar DNV SolarFarmer
Solar design & simulation
Battery sizing and modelling Advanced Verified — Not found
CAD export (DXF/DWG) — Not found Yes Verified
Electrical mismatch modelling — Could not read Yes Verified
Ground-mount / tracker layout — Not applicable Advanced Verified
Inverter sizing Advanced Verified — Could not read
Loss and uncertainty modelling (P50/P90) — Not found Basic Vendor claim
Named weather / irradiance data source — Not found basic Vendor claim
Proposals & sales
Proposal document generation Advanced Verified — Could not read
Estimation & financial modelling
ROI / payback calculation Advanced Verified — Not found
Reporting, data & BI
Report / deliverable export — Could not read Basic Vendor claim
AI & automation
AI design assistance vendor-claimed Verified — Could not read
Integrations & extensibility
Named, documented integrations 7 Verified 3 Verified
Public API Advanced Verified Not offered Verified
Platform & deployment
Delivery model hybrid Verified software Verified
Desktop OS support — Could not read Windows 10, 3GHz+, 16GB RAM, 1920x1200 Verified
Web application Yes Verified No Verified
Pricing & commercial terms
Price published Partial Verified Not published Verified
Pricing model per-seat Verified quote-only Verified
Free tier Not offered Verified free-trial Verified
Entry price 159 USD per user/month Verified — Could not read
Currency USD Verified — Could not read
Project / design cap 50 Verified — Could not read
Seat cap 1 Verified — Could not read
Market fit & availability
Geographic availability US; CA; EU Verified global Verified
Jurisdictional compliance capability us-nec Verified — Could not read
Residential Yes Verified No Verified
Target buyer small-installer; sales-org Verified engineering-firm; developer Verified
Utility-scale No Verified Yes Verified

Scroll the table sideways to see both products. The capability column stays in place.

Where they are the same 8 data points
  • Automatic module layout
  • Single-line diagram
  • Shading analysis
  • Remote site capture from imagery
  • Annual energy yield simulation
  • Bankable / IE-accepted simulation report
  • Product status
  • C&I

Which might suit you

Framed as requirements, not a verdict. Both descriptions come from the same data.

Consider Aurora Solar if…

  • you need it to connect to tools you already run (7 named)
  • AI-assisted workflows matter to you
  • your work is mostly residential

For residential installers and dealer/sales organisations who need design accuracy and a proposal in the same tool, on a per-seat subscription. Not for utility-scale or large C&I work — the vendor's own navigation routes "Commercial" to a different product (HelioScope), and the Aurora plan tables cap Basic/Premium at 1 user and 50 projects/month.

Full Aurora Solar profile

Consider DNV SolarFarmer if…

  • you are comfortable with desktop software and its constraints
  • you work at utility scale

For yield engineers and IEs at developers, lenders and EPCs who want a model backed by an assurance firm's operational dataset and are comfortable in a scripted desktop tool. Not for rooftop, residential or C&I sales work, not for macOS, and not for anyone who needs to see a price before talking to someone — the "View pricing" link leads to a JavaScript storefront that serves no product content to a non-JS reader.

Full DNV SolarFarmer profile

Related comparisons

Other options in design & simulation

Frequently asked

What is the main difference between Aurora Solar and DNV SolarFarmer?

They differ most on price published. In total we recorded 28 verified differences and 8 points where they are the same.

Which costs more, Aurora Solar or DNV SolarFarmer?

Aurora Solar is priced per-seat and DNV SolarFarmer is priced quote-only. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.

Is Aurora Solar or DNV SolarFarmer better?

We do not name a winner. Both are described from the same verified data, and which suits you depends on your requirements — the differences above are the facts; the choice is yours.

Last verified

Vendors change pricing and features without notice. Check the vendor’s own page before deciding.

This comparison is generated from the feature database, not written by hand. A pair is only published when the data holds at least five stateable differences — which is why 281 candidate pairs were refused. How comparisons are built