Solar Permit Solutions
Solar Permit Solutions
Comparison
19 differences · 6 identical
The differences that matter most
They differ most on price published. Symbium publishes USD 50; Unirac Plan Set Design Services publishes Not publicly disclosed. They use different pricing models, so those figures do not compare directly.
We do not name a winner. Below are 19 differences drawn from the same sourced dataset that powers both product pages.
Verified against the vendor’s own pages.
These cannot be compared on a single number
Symbium is priced per-unit-usage and Unirac Plan Set Design Services is priced quote-only. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.
Symbium
USD 50
50 USD per plan check
Per unit of usage
Unirac Plan Set Design Services
Not publicly disclosed
Quote only
Prices are shown exactly as each vendor writes them and are never converted between currencies.
19 differences, ordered by how much they are likely to matter — pricing transparency first, then capabilities the vendor explicitly confirms or denies.
| Capability | Symbium | Unirac Plan Set Design Services |
|---|---|---|
| Solar design & simulation | ||
| Battery sizing and modelling | — Could not read | Basic Vendor claim |
| Bill of materials generation | — Could not read | Advanced Verified |
| CAD export (DXF/DWG) | — Could not read | Yes Verified |
| Project & field operations | ||
| Field data capture / checklists | — Not found | — Could not read |
| Permitting & engineering | ||
| AHJ requirement database | Advanced Verified | Basic Vendor claim |
| Interconnection application | — Not applicable | — Not found |
| PE stamp / wet seal | — Could not read | Advanced Verified |
| Permit package / plan set generation | — Not applicable | Not offered Verified |
| Permit submission / tracking | — Could not read | — Not found |
| Structural analysis | — Could not read | Advanced Verified |
| AI & automation | ||
| AI compliance / document review | not-claimed Not found | — Could not read |
| Integrations & extensibility | ||
| Public API | — Not found | — Could not read |
| Platform & deployment | ||
| Delivery model | software Verified | service Verified |
| Pricing & commercial terms | ||
| Price published | Published Verified | Not published Verified |
| Pricing model | per-unit-usage Verified | quote-only Verified |
| Entry price | 50 USD per plan check Verified | — Could not read |
| Currency | USD Verified | — Could not read |
| Market fit & availability | ||
| Geographic availability | US Verified | US; LATAM Verified |
| Target buyer | small-installer Verified | — Could not read |
Scroll the table sideways to see both products. The capability column stays in place.
Framed as requirements, not a verdict. Both descriptions come from the same data.
It is for building departments that must satisfy a state instant- permitting mandate (California SB379, Maryland's Brighter Tomorrow Act) or that want automated compliance across more than rooftop solar, and for contractors, expediters and owner-builders in the jurisdictions where it is live. It is not a design or plan-set tool — it checks and issues, it does not draft — and like any instant-permitting platform its value to an installer is entirely a function of whether their AHJ has adopted it.
Full Symbium profileIt is for installers who already buy Unirac racking and want the proposal, plan set and hardware to come from one vendor with one project workflow. It is not vendor-neutral: the whole pitch is "Proposals + Plan Sets + Racking all under one roof", and the stated business rationale is "a deeper partnership with racking customers". An installer using IronRidge or SnapNrack is not the target.
Full Unirac Plan Set Design Services profileSolar Permit Solutions
Planet Plan Sets LLC
GreenLancer Energy, Inc.
Permitting & plan sets · Web
They differ most on price published. In total we recorded 19 verified differences and 6 points where they are the same.
Symbium is priced per-unit-usage and Unirac Plan Set Design Services is priced quote-only. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.
We do not name a winner. Both are described from the same verified data, and which suits you depends on your requirements — the differences above are the facts; the choice is yours.
Last verified
Vendors change pricing and features without notice. Check the vendor’s own page before deciding.
This comparison is generated from the feature database, not written by hand. A pair is only published when the data holds at least five stateable differences — which is why 281 candidate pairs were refused. How comparisons are built