Solar Permit Solutions
Solar Permit Solutions
Comparison
18 differences · 7 identical
The differences that matter most
They differ most on price published. Scanifly Design Services publishes Not publicly disclosed; Symbium publishes USD 50. They use different pricing models, so those figures do not compare directly.
We do not name a winner. Below are 18 differences drawn from the same sourced dataset that powers both product pages.
Verified against the vendor’s own pages.
These cannot be compared on a single number
Scanifly Design Services is priced quote-only and Symbium is priced per-unit-usage. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.
Scanifly Design Services
Not publicly disclosed
Quote only
Symbium
USD 50
50 USD per plan check
Per unit of usage
Prices are shown exactly as each vendor writes them and are never converted between currencies.
18 differences, ordered by how much they are likely to matter — pricing transparency first, then capabilities the vendor explicitly confirms or denies.
| Capability | Scanifly Design Services | Symbium |
|---|---|---|
| Solar design & simulation | ||
| 3D roof and obstruction model | Advanced Verified | — Could not read |
| On-site capture (drone / photogrammetry) | Advanced Verified | — Could not read |
| Shading analysis | Advanced Verified | — Could not read |
| Proposals & sales | ||
| E-signature | — Verified | — Could not read |
| Project & field operations | ||
| Field data capture / checklists | — Could not read | — Not found |
| Permitting & engineering | ||
| AHJ requirement database | — Could not read | Advanced Verified |
| Interconnection application | — Not found | — Not applicable |
| PE stamp / wet seal | Advanced Verified | — Could not read |
| Permit package / plan set generation | Advanced Verified | — Not applicable |
| Permit submission / tracking | — Not found | — Could not read |
| AI & automation | ||
| AI compliance / document review | — Could not read | not-claimed Not found |
| Integrations & extensibility | ||
| Public API | — Could not read | — Not found |
| Platform & deployment | ||
| Delivery model | service Verified | software Verified |
| Pricing & commercial terms | ||
| Price published | Not published Verified | Published Verified |
| Pricing model | quote-only Verified | per-unit-usage Verified |
| Entry price | — Could not read | 50 USD per plan check Verified |
| Currency | — Could not read | USD Verified |
| Market fit & availability | ||
| Target buyer | — Could not read | small-installer Verified |
Scroll the table sideways to see both products. The capability column stays in place.
Framed as requirements, not a verdict. Both descriptions come from the same data.
It is for Scanifly customers who already fly sites and want to convert those 3D models into permit documents without hiring drafters. It is not a standalone plan-set vendor: three of the five service tiers require a drone-based 3D model you produced, the deliverables land in your Scanifly account, and no price is published for any tier.
Full Scanifly Design Services profileIt is for building departments that must satisfy a state instant- permitting mandate (California SB379, Maryland's Brighter Tomorrow Act) or that want automated compliance across more than rooftop solar, and for contractors, expediters and owner-builders in the jurisdictions where it is live. It is not a design or plan-set tool — it checks and issues, it does not draft — and like any instant-permitting platform its value to an installer is entirely a function of whether their AHJ has adopted it.
Full Symbium profileSolar Permit Solutions
Symbium, Inc.
Planet Plan Sets LLC
They differ most on price published. In total we recorded 18 verified differences and 7 points where they are the same.
Scanifly Design Services is priced quote-only and Symbium is priced per-unit-usage. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.
We do not name a winner. Both are described from the same verified data, and which suits you depends on your requirements — the differences above are the facts; the choice is yours.
Last verified
Vendors change pricing and features without notice. Check the vendor’s own page before deciding.
This comparison is generated from the feature database, not written by hand. A pair is only published when the data holds at least five stateable differences — which is why 281 candidate pairs were refused. How comparisons are built