Solar Permit Solutions
Solar Permit Solutions
Comparison
16 differences · 8 identical
The differences that matter most
They differ most on price published. Planet Plan Sets publishes Not publicly disclosed; Symbium publishes USD 50. They use different pricing models, so those figures do not compare directly.
We do not name a winner. Below are 16 differences drawn from the same sourced dataset that powers both product pages.
Verified against the vendor’s own pages.
These cannot be compared on a single number
Planet Plan Sets is priced quote-only and Symbium is priced per-unit-usage. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.
Planet Plan Sets
Not publicly disclosed
Quote only
Symbium
USD 50
50 USD per plan check
Per unit of usage
Prices are shown exactly as each vendor writes them and are never converted between currencies.
16 differences, ordered by how much they are likely to matter — pricing transparency first, then capabilities the vendor explicitly confirms or denies.
| Capability | Planet Plan Sets | Symbium |
|---|---|---|
| Solar design & simulation | ||
| Cable sizing and loss calculation | Yes Verified | — Could not read |
| Project & field operations | ||
| Field data capture / checklists | — Could not read | — Not found |
| Permitting & engineering | ||
| Automated code compliance check | Advanced Verified | — Could not read |
| Interconnection application | Advanced Verified | — Not applicable |
| PE stamp / wet seal | — Not found | — Could not read |
| Permit package / plan set generation | Advanced Verified | — Not applicable |
| Structural analysis | Advanced Verified | — Could not read |
| AI & automation | ||
| AI compliance / document review | — Could not read | not-claimed Not found |
| Integrations & extensibility | ||
| Public API | — Could not read | — Not found |
| Platform & deployment | ||
| Delivery model | service Verified | software Verified |
| Pricing & commercial terms | ||
| Price published | Not published Verified | Published Verified |
| Pricing model | quote-only Verified | per-unit-usage Verified |
| Entry price | — Could not read | 50 USD per plan check Verified |
| Currency | — Could not read | USD Verified |
| Market fit & availability | ||
| C&I | No Verified | Yes Verified |
| Jurisdictional compliance capability | us-nec Verified | — Could not read |
Scroll the table sideways to see both products. The capability column stays in place.
Framed as requirements, not a verdict. Both descriptions come from the same data.
It is for residential solar contractors who need clean, cheap, fast permit drawings and are comfortable owning the engineering judgement themselves. It is not for anyone who needs a PE stamp: the word "stamp" does not appear anywhere on the site, no Professional Engineer is named on the team page, and the company describes itself throughout as a drafting service. It is also not for DIY homeowners by default — those are accepted only case by case.
Full Planet Plan Sets profileIt is for building departments that must satisfy a state instant- permitting mandate (California SB379, Maryland's Brighter Tomorrow Act) or that want automated compliance across more than rooftop solar, and for contractors, expediters and owner-builders in the jurisdictions where it is live. It is not a design or plan-set tool — it checks and issues, it does not draft — and like any instant-permitting platform its value to an installer is entirely a function of whether their AHJ has adopted it.
Full Symbium profileSolar Permit Solutions
Symbium, Inc.
GreenLancer Energy, Inc.
Permitting & plan sets · Web
They differ most on price published. In total we recorded 16 verified differences and 8 points where they are the same.
Planet Plan Sets is priced quote-only and Symbium is priced per-unit-usage. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.
We do not name a winner. Both are described from the same verified data, and which suits you depends on your requirements — the differences above are the facts; the choice is yours.
Last verified
Vendors change pricing and features without notice. Check the vendor’s own page before deciding.
This comparison is generated from the feature database, not written by hand. A pair is only published when the data holds at least five stateable differences — which is why 281 candidate pairs were refused. How comparisons are built