Easy PV
Midsummer
Design & simulation · Web
Comparison
19 differences · 13 identical
The differences that matter most
They differ most on price published. DNV SolarFarmer publishes Not publicly disclosed; Solargis Evaluate publishes EUR 12000. They use different pricing models, so those figures do not compare directly.
We do not name a winner. Below are 19 differences drawn from the same sourced dataset that powers both product pages.
Verified against the vendor’s own pages.
These cannot be compared on a single number
DNV SolarFarmer is priced quote-only and Solargis Evaluate is priced per-seat. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.
DNV SolarFarmer
Not publicly disclosed
Quote only
Solargis Evaluate
EUR 12000
12000 EUR subscription
Per seat
60 projects
Prices are shown exactly as each vendor writes them and are never converted between currencies.
19 differences, ordered by how much they are likely to matter — pricing transparency first, then capabilities the vendor explicitly confirms or denies.
| Capability | DNV SolarFarmer | Solargis Evaluate |
|---|---|---|
| Solar design & simulation | ||
| CAD export (DXF/DWG) | Yes Verified | — Not found |
| Electrical mismatch modelling | Yes Verified | — Could not read |
| Loss and uncertainty modelling (P50/P90) | Basic Vendor claim | Basic Verified |
| Named weather / irradiance data source | basic Vendor claim | advanced Verified |
| Proposals & sales | ||
| E-signature | — Could not read | — Not found |
| Reporting, data & BI | ||
| Report / deliverable export | Basic Vendor claim | Advanced Verified |
| Integrations & extensibility | ||
| Named, documented integrations | 3 Verified | 0 Verified |
| Public API | Not offered Verified | Basic Vendor claim |
| Platform & deployment | ||
| Delivery model | software Verified | hybrid Verified |
| Desktop OS support | Windows 10, 3GHz+, 16GB RAM, 1920x1200 Verified | — Could not read |
| Web application | No Verified | Yes Verified |
| Pricing & commercial terms | ||
| Price published | Not published Verified | Published Verified |
| Pricing model | quote-only Verified | per-seat Verified |
| Free tier | free-trial Verified | Not offered Verified |
| Entry price | — Could not read | 12000 EUR subscription Verified |
| Currency | — Could not read | EUR Verified |
| Project / design cap | — Could not read | 60 Verified |
| Market fit & availability | ||
| C&I | No Verified | Yes Verified |
| Target buyer | engineering-firm; developer Verified | developer Verified |
Scroll the table sideways to see both products. The capability column stays in place.
Framed as requirements, not a verdict. Both descriptions come from the same data.
For yield engineers and IEs at developers, lenders and EPCs who want a model backed by an assurance firm's operational dataset and are comfortable in a scripted desktop tool. Not for rooftop, residential or C&I sales work, not for macOS, and not for anyone who needs to see a price before talking to someone — the "View pricing" link leads to a JavaScript storefront that serves no product content to a non-JS reader.
Full DNV SolarFarmer profileFor utility-scale developers, engineers and IEs who are already buying Solargis data and want the design and simulation layer on top of it, with reports investors accept. Not for residential or rooftop sales work, not for anyone needing CAD/construction deliverables, and not for small teams — the published entry subscription is €12,000 and the project allowance is 60 "Early Stage" projects.
Full Solargis Evaluate profileMidsummer
Design & simulation · Web
SolarEdge Technologies
Design & simulation · Web
National Laboratory of the Rockies (NLR) — formerly the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
Design & simulation · Desktop
They differ most on price published. In total we recorded 19 verified differences and 13 points where they are the same.
DNV SolarFarmer is priced quote-only and Solargis Evaluate is priced per-seat. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.
We do not name a winner. Both are described from the same verified data, and which suits you depends on your requirements — the differences above are the facts; the choice is yours.
Last verified
Vendors change pricing and features without notice. Check the vendor’s own page before deciding.
This comparison is generated from the feature database, not written by hand. A pair is only published when the data holds at least five stateable differences — which is why 281 candidate pairs were refused. How comparisons are built