SolarSoftwares
Find Software →

100 products researched 2,422 sourced facts Verified September 2026 Methodology

Comparison

DNV SolarFarmer vs PV*SOL premium

23 differences · 9 identical

DNV SolarFarmerDNV
Entry price
Not publicly disclosed
Charged
Quote only
Free tier or trial
Free trial
Named integrations
3
Verified data points
8
PV*SOL premiumValentin Software GmbH
Entry price
EUR 845
Charged
Per seat
Free tier or trial
Free trial
Named integrations
20
Verified data points
11

The differences that matter most

  • Price published Not published Published
  • Pricing model quote-only per-seat
  • Entry price Not established 845 EUR per named user/year, plus VAT

All 23 differences ↓

DNV SolarFarmer or PV*SOL premium?

They differ most on price published. DNV SolarFarmer publishes Not publicly disclosed; PV*SOL premium publishes EUR 845. They use different pricing models, so those figures do not compare directly.

We do not name a winner. Below are 23 differences drawn from the same sourced dataset that powers both product pages.

Verified against the vendor’s own pages.

Pricing

These cannot be compared on a single number

DNV SolarFarmer is priced quote-only and PV*SOL premium is priced per-seat. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.

DNV SolarFarmer

Not publicly disclosed

Quote only

PV*SOL premium

EUR 845

845 EUR per named user/year, plus VAT

Per seat

Prices are shown exactly as each vendor writes them and are never converted between currencies.

Where they differ

23 differences, ordered by how much they are likely to matter — pricing transparency first, then capabilities the vendor explicitly confirms or denies.

Legend Verified Vendor claim Not offered Not found Could not read
Differences between DNV SolarFarmer and PV*SOL premium
Capability DNV SolarFarmer PV*SOL premium
Solar design & simulation
Battery sizing and modelling — Not found Advanced Verified
Ground-mount / tracker layout Advanced Verified — Not found
Single-line diagram — Not found Advanced Verified
CAD export (DXF/DWG) Yes Verified Yes Vendor claim
Electrical mismatch modelling Yes Verified — Could not read
Inverter sizing — Could not read Advanced Verified
Loss and uncertainty modelling (P50/P90) Basic Vendor claim — Not found
Named weather / irradiance data source basic Vendor claim advanced Verified
Proposals & sales
Proposal document generation — Could not read Advanced Verified
Estimation & financial modelling
ROI / payback calculation — Not found Advanced Verified
Reporting, data & BI
Report / deliverable export Basic Vendor claim — Could not read
Integrations & extensibility
Named, documented integrations 3 Verified 20 Verified
Public API Not offered Verified Basic Vendor claim
Platform & deployment
Desktop OS support Windows 10, 3GHz+, 16GB RAM, 1920x1200 Verified Windows 10/11 64-bit; .NET 4.8; internet required Verified
Pricing & commercial terms
Price published Not published Verified Published Verified
Pricing model quote-only Verified per-seat Verified
Entry price — Could not read 845 EUR per named user/year, plus VAT Verified
Currency — Could not read EUR Verified
Market fit & availability
C&I No Verified Yes Verified
Geographic availability global Verified DE; EU; global Verified
Residential No Verified Yes Verified
Target buyer engineering-firm; developer Verified engineering-firm; small-installer Verified
Utility-scale Yes Verified No Verified

Scroll the table sideways to see both products. The capability column stays in place.

Where they are the same 9 data points
  • Free tier
  • Automatic module layout
  • Shading analysis
  • Remote site capture from imagery
  • Annual energy yield simulation
  • Bankable / IE-accepted simulation report
  • Product status
  • Delivery model
  • Web application

Which might suit you

Framed as requirements, not a verdict. Both descriptions come from the same data.

Consider DNV SolarFarmer if…

  • you are comfortable with desktop software and its constraints
  • you work at utility scale

For yield engineers and IEs at developers, lenders and EPCs who want a model backed by an assurance firm's operational dataset and are comfortable in a scripted desktop tool. Not for rooftop, residential or C&I sales work, not for macOS, and not for anyone who needs to see a price before talking to someone — the "View pricing" link leads to a JavaScript storefront that serves no product content to a non-JS reader.

Full DNV SolarFarmer profile

Consider PV*SOL premium if…

  • you need a price you can plan against before talking to sales
  • you need it to connect to tools you already run (20 named)
  • you are comfortable with desktop software and its constraints
  • your work is mostly residential

For European installers, planners, roofers and energy consultants doing residential and commercial rooftop work where realistic 3D shading, battery/EV/heat-pump self-consumption and a presentable customer report matter. Not for utility-scale ground-mount engineering (the published ceiling is 7,500 mounted / 10,000 roof-parallel modules), not for macOS, and not for anyone needing a cloud or multi-user workspace.

Full PV*SOL premium profile

Related comparisons

Other options in design & simulation

Frequently asked

What is the main difference between DNV SolarFarmer and PV*SOL premium?

They differ most on price published. In total we recorded 23 verified differences and 9 points where they are the same.

Which costs more, DNV SolarFarmer or PV*SOL premium?

DNV SolarFarmer is priced quote-only and PV*SOL premium is priced per-seat. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.

Is DNV SolarFarmer or PV*SOL premium better?

We do not name a winner. Both are described from the same verified data, and which suits you depends on your requirements — the differences above are the facts; the choice is yours.

Last verified

Vendors change pricing and features without notice. Check the vendor’s own page before deciding.

This comparison is generated from the feature database, not written by hand. A pair is only published when the data holds at least five stateable differences — which is why 281 candidate pairs were refused. How comparisons are built