Easy PV
Midsummer
Design & simulation · Web
Comparison
30 differences · 7 identical
The differences that matter most
They differ most on price published. PV*SOL premium publishes EUR 845; Scanifly publishes Not publicly disclosed. They use different pricing models, so those figures do not compare directly.
We do not name a winner. Below are 30 differences drawn from the same sourced dataset that powers both product pages.
Verified against the vendor’s own pages.
These cannot be compared on a single number
PV*SOL premium is priced per-seat and Scanifly is priced quote-only. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.
PV*SOL premium
EUR 845
845 EUR per named user/year, plus VAT
Per seat
Scanifly
Not publicly disclosed
Quote only
Prices are shown exactly as each vendor writes them and are never converted between currencies.
30 differences, ordered by how much they are likely to matter — pricing transparency first, then capabilities the vendor explicitly confirms or denies.
| Capability | PV*SOL premium | Scanifly |
|---|---|---|
| Solar design & simulation | ||
| Battery sizing and modelling | Advanced Verified | — Not found |
| Loss and uncertainty modelling (P50/P90) | — Not found | Advanced Verified |
| Named weather / irradiance data source | advanced Verified | — Not found |
| Single-line diagram | Advanced Verified | — Not found |
| 3D roof and obstruction model | — Could not read | Advanced Verified |
| Annual energy yield simulation | Advanced Verified | Basic Vendor claim |
| CAD export (DXF/DWG) | Yes Vendor claim | Yes Verified |
| Ground-mount / tracker layout | — Not found | Basic Vendor claim |
| Inverter sizing | Advanced Verified | — Could not read |
| On-site capture (drone / photogrammetry) | — Could not read | Not offered Verified |
| Shading analysis | Advanced Verified | — Could not read |
| String sizing / stringing | — Could not read | — Not found |
| Proposals & sales | ||
| Proposal document generation | Advanced Verified | — Not found |
| E-signature | — Could not read | — Verified |
| Estimation & financial modelling | ||
| ROI / payback calculation | Advanced Verified | — Not found |
| AI & automation | ||
| AI design assistance | — Could not read | vendor-claimed Verified |
| Integrations & extensibility | ||
| Named, documented integrations | 20 Verified | 2 Verified |
| Public API | Basic Vendor claim | Advanced Verified |
| Platform & deployment | ||
| Android app | — Could not read | Yes Verified |
| Delivery model | software Verified | hybrid Verified |
| Desktop OS support | Windows 10/11 64-bit; .NET 4.8; internet required Verified | — Could not read |
| iOS app | — Could not read | Yes Verified |
| Web application | No Verified | Yes Verified |
| Pricing & commercial terms | ||
| Price published | Published Verified | Not published Verified |
| Pricing model | per-seat Verified | quote-only Verified |
| Free tier | free-trial Verified | Not offered Verified |
| Entry price | 845 EUR per named user/year, plus VAT Verified | — Could not read |
| Currency | EUR Verified | — Could not read |
| Market fit & availability | ||
| Geographic availability | DE; EU; global Verified | US Verified |
| Target buyer | engineering-firm; small-installer Verified | — Could not read |
Scroll the table sideways to see both products. The capability column stays in place.
Framed as requirements, not a verdict. Both descriptions come from the same data.
For European installers, planners, roofers and energy consultants doing residential and commercial rooftop work where realistic 3D shading, battery/EV/heat-pump self-consumption and a presentable customer report matter. Not for utility-scale ground-mount engineering (the published ceiling is 7,500 mounted / 10,000 roof-parallel modules), not for macOS, and not for anyone needing a cloud or multi-user workspace.
Full PV*SOL premium profileUS residential and small-commercial contractors whose real cost is revisions, change orders and finance rejections, and who are willing to put a drone in every surveyor's van. It is not for utility-scale work, not for anyone who cannot or will not fly drones on site (the drone half is the differentiator; without it this is an ordinary remote design tool), and not for a buyer who needs a price before a sales call — **Scanifly publishes no pricing at all**. [✗ not found · https://scanifly.com/pricing/ returns HTTP 404; no price string appears anywhere on the site 2026-09-25]
Full Scanifly profileMidsummer
Design & simulation · Web
SolarEdge Technologies
Design & simulation · Web
National Laboratory of the Rockies (NLR) — formerly the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
Design & simulation · Desktop
They differ most on price published. In total we recorded 30 verified differences and 7 points where they are the same.
PV*SOL premium is priced per-seat and Scanifly is priced quote-only. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.
We do not name a winner. Both are described from the same verified data, and which suits you depends on your requirements — the differences above are the facts; the choice is yours.
Last verified
Vendors change pricing and features without notice. Check the vendor’s own page before deciding.
This comparison is generated from the feature database, not written by hand. A pair is only published when the data holds at least five stateable differences — which is why 281 candidate pairs were refused. How comparisons are built