SolarSoftwares
Find Software →

100 products researched 2,422 sourced facts Verified September 2026 Methodology

Comparison

DNV SolarFarmer vs SAM (System Advisor Model)

25 differences · 6 identical

DNV SolarFarmerDNV
Entry price
Not publicly disclosed
Charged
Quote only
Free tier or trial
Free trial
Named integrations
3
Verified data points
8
SAM (System Advisor Model)National Laboratory of the Rockies (NLR) — formerly the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
Entry price
Free
Charged
Free
Free tier or trial
Free tier, no time limit
Named integrations
0
Verified data points
6

The differences that matter most

  • Price published Not published Published
  • Pricing model quote-only free
  • Free tier free-trial free-forever

All 25 differences ↓

DNV SolarFarmer or SAM (System Advisor Model)?

They differ most on price published. DNV SolarFarmer publishes Not publicly disclosed; SAM (System Advisor Model) publishes Free. They use different pricing models, so those figures do not compare directly.

We do not name a winner. Below are 25 differences drawn from the same sourced dataset that powers both product pages.

Verified against the vendor’s own pages.

Pricing

These cannot be compared on a single number

DNV SolarFarmer is priced quote-only and SAM (System Advisor Model) is priced free. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.

DNV SolarFarmer

Not publicly disclosed

Quote only

SAM (System Advisor Model)

Free

0 USD free desktop application

Free

Prices are shown exactly as each vendor writes them and are never converted between currencies.

Where they differ

25 differences, ordered by how much they are likely to matter — pricing transparency first, then capabilities the vendor explicitly confirms or denies.

Legend Verified Vendor claim Not offered Not found Could not read
Differences between DNV SolarFarmer and SAM (System Advisor Model)
Capability DNV SolarFarmer SAM (System Advisor Model)
Solar design & simulation
Automatic module layout Advanced Verified — Not found
Battery sizing and modelling — Not found Advanced Verified
CAD export (DXF/DWG) Yes Verified — Not found
Ground-mount / tracker layout Advanced Verified — Not found
Remote site capture from imagery Advanced Verified — Not found
Shading analysis Advanced Verified — Not found
Bankable / IE-accepted simulation report Basic Vendor claim — Not found
Electrical mismatch modelling Yes Verified — Could not read
Inverter sizing — Could not read Basic Vendor claim
Loss and uncertainty modelling (P50/P90) Basic Vendor claim Advanced Verified
Named weather / irradiance data source basic Vendor claim advanced Verified
Estimation & financial modelling
ROI / payback calculation — Not found Advanced Verified
Reporting, data & BI
Report / deliverable export Basic Vendor claim — Not found
Integrations & extensibility
Named, documented integrations 3 Verified 0 Verified
Public API Not offered Verified Advanced Verified
Platform & deployment
Delivery model software Verified open-source Verified
Desktop OS support Windows 10, 3GHz+, 16GB RAM, 1920x1200 Verified not stated beyond 'desktop application' Verified
Pricing & commercial terms
Price published Not published Verified Published Verified
Pricing model quote-only Verified free Verified
Free tier free-trial Verified free-forever Verified
Entry price — Could not read 0 USD free desktop application Verified
Currency — Could not read USD Verified
Market fit & availability
C&I No Verified Yes Verified
Geographic availability global Verified US; global Verified
Residential No Verified Yes Verified

Scroll the table sideways to see both products. The capability column stays in place.

Where they are the same 6 data points
  • Single-line diagram
  • Annual energy yield simulation
  • Target buyer
  • Product status
  • Utility-scale
  • Web application

Which might suit you

Framed as requirements, not a verdict. Both descriptions come from the same data.

Consider DNV SolarFarmer if…

  • you are comfortable with desktop software and its constraints
  • you work at utility scale

For yield engineers and IEs at developers, lenders and EPCs who want a model backed by an assurance firm's operational dataset and are comfortable in a scripted desktop tool. Not for rooftop, residential or C&I sales work, not for macOS, and not for anyone who needs to see a price before talking to someone — the "View pricing" link leads to a JavaScript storefront that serves no product content to a non-JS reader.

Full DNV SolarFarmer profile

Consider SAM (System Advisor Model) if…

  • you need a price you can plan against before talking to sales
  • you want to start without a budget approval
  • you are comfortable with desktop software and its constraints
  • you work at utility scale
  • your work is mostly residential

For analysts, researchers, policy people and developers who need a transparent, auditable, free model and a real financial structure behind the kWh. Not for installers who need a roof capture, a proposal or a plan set — SAM has no satellite imagery workflow, no proposal output and no CRM, and it registers users with a free software key rather than selling a licence.

Full SAM (System Advisor Model) profile

Related comparisons

Other options in design & simulation

Frequently asked

What is the main difference between DNV SolarFarmer and SAM (System Advisor Model)?

They differ most on price published. In total we recorded 25 verified differences and 6 points where they are the same.

Which costs more, DNV SolarFarmer or SAM (System Advisor Model)?

DNV SolarFarmer is priced quote-only and SAM (System Advisor Model) is priced free. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.

Is DNV SolarFarmer or SAM (System Advisor Model) better?

We do not name a winner. Both are described from the same verified data, and which suits you depends on your requirements — the differences above are the facts; the choice is yours.

Last verified

Vendors change pricing and features without notice. Check the vendor’s own page before deciding.

This comparison is generated from the feature database, not written by hand. A pair is only published when the data holds at least five stateable differences — which is why 281 candidate pairs were refused. How comparisons are built