Easy PV
Midsummer
Design & simulation · Web
Comparison
17 differences · 15 identical
The differences that matter most
They differ most on free tier. DNV SolarFarmer publishes Not publicly disclosed; RatedPower (pvDesign) publishes Not publicly disclosed.
We do not name a winner. Below are 17 differences drawn from the same sourced dataset that powers both product pages.
Verified against the vendor’s own pages.
Both use the same pricing model, so the figures below are directly comparable.
DNV SolarFarmer
Not publicly disclosed
Quote only
RatedPower (pvDesign)
Not publicly disclosed
Quote only
Prices are shown exactly as each vendor writes them and are never converted between currencies.
17 differences, ordered by how much they are likely to matter — pricing transparency first, then capabilities the vendor explicitly confirms or denies.
| Capability | DNV SolarFarmer | RatedPower (pvDesign) |
|---|---|---|
| Solar design & simulation | ||
| Battery sizing and modelling | — Not found | Advanced Verified |
| Electrical mismatch modelling | Yes Verified | — Could not read |
| Manual layout editing | — Could not read | — Verified |
| Named weather / irradiance data source | basic Vendor claim | — Not found |
| Shading analysis | Advanced Verified | Basic Vendor claim |
| Single-line diagram | — Not found | Basic Vendor claim |
| Proposals & sales | ||
| E-signature | — Could not read | Yes Verified |
| Proposal document generation | — Could not read | Advanced Verified |
| Estimation & financial modelling | ||
| ROI / payback calculation | — Not found | Advanced Verified |
| Reporting, data & BI | ||
| Report / deliverable export | Basic Vendor claim | — Could not read |
| AI & automation | ||
| AI agent / copilot | — Could not read | vendor-claimed Verified |
| Integrations & extensibility | ||
| Named, documented integrations | 3 Verified | 4 Verified |
| Public API | Not offered Verified | Basic Vendor claim |
| Platform & deployment | ||
| Desktop OS support | Windows 10, 3GHz+, 16GB RAM, 1920x1200 Verified | — Could not read |
| Web application | No Verified | Yes Verified |
| Pricing & commercial terms | ||
| Free tier | free-trial Verified | demo-only Verified |
| Market fit & availability | ||
| Target buyer | engineering-firm; developer Verified | enterprise-epc; developer Verified |
Scroll the table sideways to see both products. The capability column stays in place.
Framed as requirements, not a verdict. Both descriptions come from the same data.
For yield engineers and IEs at developers, lenders and EPCs who want a model backed by an assurance firm's operational dataset and are comfortable in a scripted desktop tool. Not for rooftop, residential or C&I sales work, not for macOS, and not for anyone who needs to see a price before talking to someone — the "View pricing" link leads to a JavaScript storefront that serves no product content to a non-JS reader.
Full DNV SolarFarmer profileFor developers, IPPs, EPCs and engineering firms who need to iterate hundreds of utility-scale layouts and carry them through to interconnection and off-taker-ready detailed engineering. Not for anyone who needs a published price (all three tiers are "Talk to sales"), not for rooftop or residential, and not for buyers who need site prospecting outside the specific geographies where Enverus PRISM International data is licensed.
Full RatedPower (pvDesign) profileMidsummer
Design & simulation · Web
SolarEdge Technologies
Design & simulation · Web
National Laboratory of the Rockies (NLR) — formerly the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
Design & simulation · Desktop
They differ most on free tier. In total we recorded 17 verified differences and 15 points where they are the same.
Both are priced quote only. DNV SolarFarmer: Not publicly disclosed. RatedPower (pvDesign): Not publicly disclosed.
We do not name a winner. Both are described from the same verified data, and which suits you depends on your requirements — the differences above are the facts; the choice is yours.
Last verified
Vendors change pricing and features without notice. Check the vendor’s own page before deciding.
This comparison is generated from the feature database, not written by hand. A pair is only published when the data holds at least five stateable differences — which is why 281 candidate pairs were refused. How comparisons are built