Easy PV
Midsummer
Design & simulation · Web
Comparison
16 differences · 14 identical
The differences that matter most
They differ most on free tier. DNV SolarFarmer publishes Not publicly disclosed; HELIOS 3D publishes Not publicly disclosed.
We do not name a winner. Below are 16 differences drawn from the same sourced dataset that powers both product pages.
Verified against the vendor’s own pages.
Both use the same pricing model, so the figures below are directly comparable.
DNV SolarFarmer
Not publicly disclosed
Quote only
HELIOS 3D
Not publicly disclosed
Quote only
Prices are shown exactly as each vendor writes them and are never converted between currencies.
16 differences, ordered by how much they are likely to matter — pricing transparency first, then capabilities the vendor explicitly confirms or denies.
| Capability | DNV SolarFarmer | HELIOS 3D |
|---|---|---|
| Solar design & simulation | ||
| Single-line diagram | — Not found | Advanced Verified |
| Annual energy yield simulation | Advanced Verified | Basic Vendor claim |
| Bankable / IE-accepted simulation report | Basic Vendor claim | — Not found |
| Electrical mismatch modelling | Yes Verified | — Could not read |
| Inverter sizing | — Could not read | Advanced Verified |
| Loss and uncertainty modelling (P50/P90) | Basic Vendor claim | — Not found |
| Named weather / irradiance data source | basic Vendor claim | advanced Verified |
| Proposals & sales | ||
| E-signature | — Could not read | — Not found |
| Reporting, data & BI | ||
| Report / deliverable export | Basic Vendor claim | Advanced Verified |
| Integrations & extensibility | ||
| Public API | Not offered Verified | — Not found |
| Named, documented integrations | 3 Verified | 1 Verified |
| Platform & deployment | ||
| Desktop OS support | Windows 10, 3GHz+, 16GB RAM, 1920x1200 Verified | — Could not read |
| Web application | No Verified | — Could not read |
| Pricing & commercial terms | ||
| Free tier | free-trial Verified | Not offered Verified |
| Market fit & availability | ||
| Geographic availability | global Verified | DE; global Verified |
| Target buyer | engineering-firm; developer Verified | enterprise-epc; engineering-firm Verified |
Scroll the table sideways to see both products. The capability column stays in place.
Framed as requirements, not a verdict. Both descriptions come from the same data.
For yield engineers and IEs at developers, lenders and EPCs who want a model backed by an assurance firm's operational dataset and are comfortable in a scripted desktop tool. Not for rooftop, residential or C&I sales work, not for macOS, and not for anyone who needs to see a price before talking to someone — the "View pricing" link leads to a JavaScript storefront that serves no product content to a non-JS reader.
Full DNV SolarFarmer profileFor utility-scale project developers, EPCs and engineering firms that already own a Civil 3D estate, have IT able to run and back up a SQL Server instance, and need a layout that survives into earthworks and pile-driving coordinates. Not for anyone who wants a browser tool, a price they can read, a trial they can self-serve, a rooftop or residential workflow, or a licence that survives losing a USB stick — the vendor's own help centre says losing the dongle "will result in the irrevocable loss of your license" and recommends buying electronics insurance.
Full HELIOS 3D profileMidsummer
Design & simulation · Web
SolarEdge Technologies
Design & simulation · Web
National Laboratory of the Rockies (NLR) — formerly the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
Design & simulation · Desktop
They differ most on free tier. In total we recorded 16 verified differences and 14 points where they are the same.
Both are priced quote only. DNV SolarFarmer: Not publicly disclosed. HELIOS 3D: Not publicly disclosed.
We do not name a winner. Both are described from the same verified data, and which suits you depends on your requirements — the differences above are the facts; the choice is yours.
Last verified
Vendors change pricing and features without notice. Check the vendor’s own page before deciding.
This comparison is generated from the feature database, not written by hand. A pair is only published when the data holds at least five stateable differences — which is why 281 candidate pairs were refused. How comparisons are built