Solar Permit Solutions
Solar Permit Solutions
Comparison
14 differences · 7 identical
The differences that matter most
They differ most on price published. Aurora Solar — Plan Sets Service publishes Could not verify; Planet Plan Sets publishes Not publicly disclosed. They use different pricing models, so those figures do not compare directly.
We do not name a winner. Below are 14 differences drawn from the same sourced dataset that powers both product pages.
Verified against the vendor’s own pages.
These cannot be compared on a single number
Aurora Solar — Plan Sets Service is priced on an unrecorded basis and Planet Plan Sets is priced quote-only. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.
Aurora Solar — Plan Sets Service
Could not verify
Model not established
Planet Plan Sets
Not publicly disclosed
Quote only
Prices are shown exactly as each vendor writes them and are never converted between currencies.
14 differences, ordered by how much they are likely to matter — pricing transparency first, then capabilities the vendor explicitly confirms or denies.
| Capability | Aurora Solar — Plan Sets Service | Planet Plan Sets |
|---|---|---|
| Solar design & simulation | ||
| Cable sizing and loss calculation | — Could not read | Yes Verified |
| Proposals & sales | ||
| E-signature | Yes Verified | — Could not read |
| Permitting & engineering | ||
| Interconnection application | — Not found | Advanced Verified |
| PE stamp / wet seal | Advanced Verified | — Not found |
| Automated code compliance check | — Could not read | Advanced Verified |
| Permit package / plan set generation | Not offered Verified | Advanced Verified |
| Permit submission / tracking | — Not found | — Could not read |
| Structural analysis | — Could not read | Advanced Verified |
| Integrations & extensibility | ||
| Named, documented integrations | — Could not read | 0 Verified |
| Pricing & commercial terms | ||
| Price published | — Could not read | Not published Verified |
| Pricing model | — Could not read | quote-only Verified |
| Free tier | — Could not read | Not offered Verified |
| Market fit & availability | ||
| Jurisdictional compliance capability | — Could not read | us-nec Verified |
| Target buyer | — Could not read | small-installer Verified |
Scroll the table sideways to see both products. The capability column stays in place.
Framed as requirements, not a verdict. Both descriptions come from the same data.
It is for existing Aurora customers on the Enterprise plan who want to stop re-keying project data into a separate permitting vendor. It is not available as a standalone purchase: the published feature matrix restricts plan sets and engineering stamps to the Enterprise tier, so an installer who does not already run Aurora cannot buy the plan set on its own, and no plan-set price is published at any tier.
Full Aurora Solar — Plan Sets Service profileIt is for residential solar contractors who need clean, cheap, fast permit drawings and are comfortable owning the engineering judgement themselves. It is not for anyone who needs a PE stamp: the word "stamp" does not appear anywhere on the site, no Professional Engineer is named on the team page, and the company describes itself throughout as a drafting service. It is also not for DIY homeowners by default — those are accepted only case by case.
Full Planet Plan Sets profileSolar Permit Solutions
Symbium, Inc.
Planet Plan Sets LLC
They differ most on price published. In total we recorded 14 verified differences and 7 points where they are the same.
Aurora Solar — Plan Sets Service is priced on an unrecorded basis and Planet Plan Sets is priced quote-only. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.
We do not name a winner. Both are described from the same verified data, and which suits you depends on your requirements — the differences above are the facts; the choice is yours.
Last verified
Vendors change pricing and features without notice. Check the vendor’s own page before deciding.
This comparison is generated from the feature database, not written by hand. A pair is only published when the data holds at least five stateable differences — which is why 281 candidate pairs were refused. How comparisons are built