SolarSoftwares
Find Software →

100 products researched 2,422 sourced facts Verified September 2026 Methodology

Solcast

by Solcast · Australia (originating entity is an Australian Pty Ltd; no street address published on the pages fetched)

Weather, tariff & utility data · Data / API

Entry price
Not publicly disclosed

Vendor site checked

Charged
Quote only
Try before buying
Limited free tier
Runs on
Web
Built for
Residential · C&I · Utility-scale
Named integrations
5
Last verified

against the vendor’s own pages

What is Solcast?

A global satellite-derived solar irradiance, weather and PV-power API — historic back to 2007, live to the last five minutes, and forecast to +14 days — delivered as data, not as an application.

It does not publish a price; we checked the vendor’s own site on 28 September 2026. We recorded 17 verified capabilities.

Verified against the vendor’s own pages.

The two questions vendors rarely answer

Free or paid?

Limited free allowance

Not publicly disclosed

Dependencies & lock-in

None recorded

We did not establish a hard third-party dependency. That is not the same as confirming there is none.

Our editorial assessment — not a user review

Who it is for — and who it is not for

It is for whoever is *building* the thing an installer uses: a design tool, a monitoring platform, a trading desk, a grid operator, a resource analyst automating yield studies. It is not a tool a solar installer sits in front of. There is no drawing canvas, no proposal, no customer-facing output. If you are comparing Solcast against a design tool, you have made a category error.

Editorial assessment from the research recordSourcesolcast.comVerified

Pricing

Not publicly disclosed

Solcast does not publish a price. Pricing is quote-only.

We searched the vendor’s own site on 28 September 2026 and found no figure. That is one of 51 products in this dataset that publish nothing.

Limited free allowance

Sourcesolcast.comVerifiedfirst-hand

Prices are shown exactly as the vendor writes them and are never converted between currencies — a converted figure would be a number we invented. How we verify pricing

Feature detail

18 normalised data points across 7 capability areas. Every row carries its evidence state; hover any chip for what that state means.

Legend Verified Vendor claim Not offered Not found Could not read
Solar design & simulation 4 verified
Solar design & simulation capabilities for Solcast
Capability Value Evidence
Yield simulation
Bankable / IE-accepted simulation report ⓘ Advanced Verified
Loss and uncertainty modelling (P50/P90) ⓘ Advanced Verified
Named weather / irradiance data source ⓘ none Verified
Sub-hourly / 8760 output ⓘ — Verified
CRM & lead management 1 verified
CRM & lead management capabilities for Solcast
Capability Value Evidence
Reporting
Sales reporting and forecasting ⓘ Not offered Verified
Monitoring & operations 1 verified
Monitoring & operations capabilities for Solcast
Capability Value Evidence
Operations
Portfolio / fleet view ⓘ Advanced Verified
Integrations & extensibility 1 verified
Integrations & extensibility capabilities for Solcast
Capability Value Evidence
Named integrations
Named, documented integrations ⓘ 5 Verified
Platform & deployment 2 verified
Platform & deployment capabilities for Solcast
Capability Value Evidence
Deployment
Delivery model data-api Verified
Web application — Verified
Pricing & commercial terms 3 verified
Pricing & commercial terms capabilities for Solcast
Capability Value Evidence
Pricing transparency
Price published ⓘ Not published Verified
Pricing model quote-only Verified
Trial
Free tier free-tier-limited Verified
Market fit & availability 5 verified
Market fit & availability capabilities for Solcast
Capability Value Evidence
Availability
Geographic availability global Verified
Lifecycle
Product status active Verified
Segment
C&I ⓘ — Verified
Residential ⓘ — Verified
Utility-scale ⓘ — Verified

1 further data points are not applicable to this product and are hidden here. They are excluded from any score rather than counted as zero — a residential tool is not deficient at ground-mount layout, it is out of scope.

AI capabilities

No AI claim on the vendor’s own pages

We found no explicit AI or machine-learning claim. Words like “smart”, “one-click automatic” and “magic” are automation claims and are deliberately not counted as AI — coding them as AI would fabricate a capability the vendor never asserted.

Integrations

5 named, documented integrations.

  • DNV Solar Resource Compass
  • DNV SolarFarmer
  • SAM
  • TMY3
  • PVsyst

A logo wall is not an integration list. Only named, documented products are counted.

Collected from users — none yet

Verified user reviews

No verified user reviews yet

We publish only reviews we collect and verify ourselves. No review of Solcast has cleared identity verification and moderation yet, so there is no score — and there will be none until eight verified reviews exist.

Third-party ratings from G2, Capterra and TrustRadius are never mixed into our score or our structured data; where we cite them they are attributed and dated. How our review system works · Write a review

Third-party review presence recorded during research: —. Cited in prose only, never in our markup.

Compare Solcast

Only pairs where the database holds a real, stateable difference are published. Every one of these was generated from the same feature data shown above.

Solcast alternatives

All alternatives

Products in Weather, tariff & utility data, free and lower-cost options first.

Frequently asked

How much does Solcast cost?

Solcast does not publish a price. We searched the vendor's own site on 28 September 2026 and found no figure.

Is Solcast free?

Limited free allowance.

What does Solcast integrate with?

5 named, documented integrations: DNV Solar Resource Compass, DNV SolarFarmer, SAM, TMY3, PVsyst.

Sources and verification

Data coverage

17 verified · 0 vendor-claimed · 0 not found

100% of the 17 applicable data points were confirmed on Solcast’s own pages.

Last verified

Vendors change pricing and features without notice. Check the vendor’s own page before deciding.