SolarAnywhere
Clean Power Research, L.L.C.
Weather, tariff & utility data · Web
Comparison
18 differences · 8 identical
The differences that matter most
They differ most on price published. Solcast publishes Not publicly disclosed; UtilityAPI publishes USD 1.50. They use different pricing models, so those figures do not compare directly.
We do not name a winner. Below are 18 differences drawn from the same sourced dataset that powers both product pages.
Verified against the vendor’s own pages.
These cannot be compared on a single number
Solcast is priced quote-only and UtilityAPI is priced per-unit-usage. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.
Solcast
Not publicly disclosed
Quote only
UtilityAPI
USD 1.50
1.50 USD per meter per month of data
Per unit of usage
Prices are shown exactly as each vendor writes them and are never converted between currencies.
18 differences, ordered by how much they are likely to matter — pricing transparency first, then capabilities the vendor explicitly confirms or denies.
| Capability | Solcast | UtilityAPI |
|---|---|---|
| Solar design & simulation | ||
| Bankable / IE-accepted simulation report | Advanced Verified | — Could not read |
| Loss and uncertainty modelling (P50/P90) | Advanced Verified | — Could not read |
| Named weather / irradiance data source | none Verified | — Not applicable |
| Sub-hourly / 8760 output | Yes Verified | — Could not read |
| Proposals & sales | ||
| Incentive and rebate calculation | — Could not read | Advanced Verified |
| Savings / bill-offset calculation | — Could not read | — Not found |
| CRM & lead management | ||
| Sales reporting and forecasting | Not offered Verified | — Could not read |
| Project & field operations | ||
| Automated customer updates | — Could not read | Yes Verified |
| Monitoring & operations | ||
| Portfolio / fleet view | Advanced Verified | — Could not read |
| Production monitoring | — Could not read | Advanced Verified |
| Integrations & extensibility | ||
| Named, documented integrations | 5 Verified | 2 Verified |
| Public API | — Could not read | Not offered Verified |
| Pricing & commercial terms | ||
| Price published | Not published Verified | Published Verified |
| Pricing model | quote-only Verified | per-unit-usage Verified |
| Entry price | — Could not read | 1.50 USD per meter per month of data Verified |
| Currency | — Could not read | USD Verified |
| Market fit & availability | ||
| Geographic availability | global Verified | US Verified |
| Target buyer | — Could not read | developer; sales-org Verified |
Scroll the table sideways to see both products. The capability column stays in place.
Framed as requirements, not a verdict. Both descriptions come from the same data.
It is for whoever is *building* the thing an installer uses: a design tool, a monitoring platform, a trading desk, a grid operator, a resource analyst automating yield studies. It is not a tool a solar installer sits in front of. There is no drawing canvas, no proposal, no customer-facing output. If you are comparing Solcast against a design tool, you have made a category error.
Full Solcast profileIt is for whoever needs a specific customer's *real* consumption with that customer's consent — a proposal tool sizing a system, a financier underwriting a PPA, a storage developer modelling demand charges, a programme administrator qualifying a rebate. It is not a tariff engine, not a rate calculator, and not a solar tool. It will tell you exactly what a customer used and was billed; it will not tell you what a different rate would have cost them.
Full UtilityAPI profileClean Power Research, L.L.C.
Weather, tariff & utility data · Web
UtilityAPI
Weather, tariff & utility data · Web
Arcadia
Weather, tariff & utility data · Web
They differ most on price published. In total we recorded 18 verified differences and 8 points where they are the same.
Solcast is priced quote-only and UtilityAPI is priced per-unit-usage. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.
We do not name a winner. Both are described from the same verified data, and which suits you depends on your requirements — the differences above are the facts; the choice is yours.
Last verified
Vendors change pricing and features without notice. Check the vendor’s own page before deciding.
This comparison is generated from the feature database, not written by hand. A pair is only published when the data holds at least five stateable differences — which is why 281 candidate pairs were refused. How comparisons are built