SolarSoftwares
Find Software →

100 products researched 2,422 sourced facts Verified September 2026 Methodology

Comparison

DNV SolarFarmer vs HelioScope

28 differences · 11 identical

DNV SolarFarmerDNV
Entry price
Not publicly disclosed
Charged
Quote only
Free tier or trial
Free trial
Named integrations
3
Verified data points
8
HelioScopeAurora Solar Inc. (acquired Folsom Labs, 2019)
Entry price
USD 159
Charged
Capacity tiered
Free tier or trial
Free trial
Named integrations
1
Verified data points
12

The differences that matter most

  • Price published Not published Partial
  • Pricing model quote-only capacity-tiered
  • Entry price Not established 159 USD per licence/month

All 28 differences ↓

DNV SolarFarmer or HelioScope?

They differ most on price published. DNV SolarFarmer publishes Not publicly disclosed; HelioScope publishes USD 159. They use different pricing models, so those figures do not compare directly.

We do not name a winner. Below are 28 differences drawn from the same sourced dataset that powers both product pages.

Verified against the vendor’s own pages.

Pricing

These cannot be compared on a single number

DNV SolarFarmer is priced quote-only and HelioScope is priced capacity-tiered. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.

DNV SolarFarmer

Not publicly disclosed

Quote only

HelioScope

USD 159

159 USD per licence/month

Capacity tiered

Size ceiling: 1.25 MW DC (Basic) / 5 MW (Pro) / 30 MW (Enterprise)

1 seat included

10 projects

Prices are shown exactly as each vendor writes them and are never converted between currencies.

Where they differ

28 differences, ordered by how much they are likely to matter — pricing transparency first, then capabilities the vendor explicitly confirms or denies.

Legend Verified Vendor claim Not offered Not found Could not read
Differences between DNV SolarFarmer and HelioScope
Capability DNV SolarFarmer HelioScope
Solar design & simulation
Battery sizing and modelling — Not found Advanced Verified
Single-line diagram — Not found Advanced Verified
Electrical mismatch modelling Yes Verified — Could not read
Export to other simulation tools — Could not read none Verified
Ground-mount / tracker layout Advanced Verified Not offered Verified
Inverter sizing — Could not read Basic Vendor claim
Loss and uncertainty modelling (P50/P90) Basic Vendor claim Advanced Verified
Proposals & sales
E-signature — Could not read — Verified
Proposal document generation — Could not read Advanced Verified
Estimation & financial modelling
ROI / payback calculation — Not found Advanced Verified
Reporting, data & BI
Report / deliverable export Basic Vendor claim — Could not read
AI & automation
AI defect / anomaly detection — Could not read not-claimed Not found
AI design assistance — Could not read vendor-claimed Verified
Integrations & extensibility
Named, documented integrations 3 Verified 1 Verified
Public API Not offered Verified Advanced Verified
Platform & deployment
Desktop OS support Windows 10, 3GHz+, 16GB RAM, 1920x1200 Verified — Could not read
Web application No Verified Yes Verified
Pricing & commercial terms
Price published Not published Verified Partial Verified
Pricing model quote-only Verified capacity-tiered Verified
Entry price — Could not read 159 USD per licence/month Verified
Currency — Could not read USD Verified
Project / design cap — Could not read 10 Verified
Seat cap — Could not read 1 Verified
System size cap — Could not read 1.25 MW DC (Basic) / 5 MW (Pro) / 30 MW (Enterprise) Verified
Market fit & availability
C&I No Verified Yes Verified
Geographic availability global Verified US; global Verified
Target buyer engineering-firm; developer Verified small-installer; engineering-firm Verified
Utility-scale Yes Verified No Verified

Scroll the table sideways to see both products. The capability column stays in place.

Where they are the same 11 data points
  • Free tier
  • Automatic module layout
  • CAD export (DXF/DWG)
  • Shading analysis
  • Remote site capture from imagery
  • Annual energy yield simulation
  • Bankable / IE-accepted simulation report
  • Named weather / irradiance data source
  • Product status
  • Residential
  • Delivery model

Which might suit you

Framed as requirements, not a verdict. Both descriptions come from the same data.

Consider DNV SolarFarmer if…

  • you are comfortable with desktop software and its constraints
  • you work at utility scale

For yield engineers and IEs at developers, lenders and EPCs who want a model backed by an assurance firm's operational dataset and are comfortable in a scripted desktop tool. Not for rooftop, residential or C&I sales work, not for macOS, and not for anyone who needs to see a price before talking to someone — the "View pricing" link leads to a JavaScript storefront that serves no product content to a non-JS reader.

Full DNV SolarFarmer profile

Consider HelioScope if…

  • your systems fit within 1.25 MW DC (Basic) / 5 MW (Pro) / 30 MW (Enterprise)
  • AI-assisted workflows matter to you

For C&I designers and engineers who need a layout, a bankable-grade production estimate and a sales proposal without leaving one tool. Not for residential one-roof sales work (the same vendor routes that to Aurora) and not for jobs above 30 MW DC — the vendor publishes a hard design-size cap on every tier.

Full HelioScope profile

Related comparisons

Other options in design & simulation

Frequently asked

What is the main difference between DNV SolarFarmer and HelioScope?

They differ most on price published. In total we recorded 28 verified differences and 11 points where they are the same.

Which costs more, DNV SolarFarmer or HelioScope?

DNV SolarFarmer is priced quote-only and HelioScope is priced capacity-tiered. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.

Is DNV SolarFarmer or HelioScope better?

We do not name a winner. Both are described from the same verified data, and which suits you depends on your requirements — the differences above are the facts; the choice is yours.

Last verified

Vendors change pricing and features without notice. Check the vendor’s own page before deciding.

This comparison is generated from the feature database, not written by hand. A pair is only published when the data holds at least five stateable differences — which is why 281 candidate pairs were refused. How comparisons are built