SolarSoftwares
Find Software →

100 products researched 2,422 sourced facts Verified September 2026 Methodology

Comparison

PV*SOL premium vs RatedPower (pvDesign)

23 differences · 10 identical

PV*SOL premiumValentin Software GmbH
Entry price
EUR 845
Charged
Per seat
Free tier or trial
Free trial
Named integrations
20
Verified data points
11
RatedPower (pvDesign)RatedPower (part of Enverus)
Entry price
Not publicly disclosed
Charged
Quote only
Free tier or trial
Demo only, no trial
Named integrations
4
Verified data points
9

The differences that matter most

  • Price published Published Not published
  • Pricing model per-seat quote-only
  • Free tier free-trial demo-only

All 23 differences ↓

PV*SOL premium or RatedPower (pvDesign)?

They differ most on price published. PV*SOL premium publishes EUR 845; RatedPower (pvDesign) publishes Not publicly disclosed. They use different pricing models, so those figures do not compare directly.

We do not name a winner. Below are 23 differences drawn from the same sourced dataset that powers both product pages.

Verified against the vendor’s own pages.

Pricing

These cannot be compared on a single number

PV*SOL premium is priced per-seat and RatedPower (pvDesign) is priced quote-only. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.

PV*SOL premium

EUR 845

845 EUR per named user/year, plus VAT

Per seat

RatedPower (pvDesign)

Not publicly disclosed

Quote only

Prices are shown exactly as each vendor writes them and are never converted between currencies.

Where they differ

23 differences, ordered by how much they are likely to matter — pricing transparency first, then capabilities the vendor explicitly confirms or denies.

Legend Verified Vendor claim Not offered Not found Could not read
Differences between PV*SOL premium and RatedPower (pvDesign)
Capability PV*SOL premium RatedPower (pvDesign)
Solar design & simulation
Ground-mount / tracker layout — Not found Advanced Verified
Named weather / irradiance data source advanced Verified — Not found
CAD export (DXF/DWG) Yes Vendor claim Yes Verified
Inverter sizing Advanced Verified — Could not read
Loss and uncertainty modelling (P50/P90) — Not found Basic Vendor claim
Manual layout editing — Could not read — Verified
Shading analysis Advanced Verified Basic Vendor claim
Single-line diagram Advanced Verified Basic Vendor claim
Proposals & sales
E-signature — Could not read Yes Verified
AI & automation
AI agent / copilot — Could not read vendor-claimed Verified
Integrations & extensibility
Named, documented integrations 20 Verified 4 Verified
Platform & deployment
Desktop OS support Windows 10/11 64-bit; .NET 4.8; internet required Verified — Could not read
Web application No Verified Yes Verified
Pricing & commercial terms
Price published Published Verified Not published Verified
Pricing model per-seat Verified quote-only Verified
Free tier free-trial Verified demo-only Verified
Entry price 845 EUR per named user/year, plus VAT Verified — Could not read
Currency EUR Verified — Could not read
Market fit & availability
C&I Yes Verified No Verified
Geographic availability DE; EU; global Verified global Verified
Residential Yes Verified No Verified
Target buyer engineering-firm; small-installer Verified enterprise-epc; developer Verified
Utility-scale No Verified Yes Verified

Scroll the table sideways to see both products. The capability column stays in place.

Where they are the same 10 data points
  • Automatic module layout
  • Remote site capture from imagery
  • Battery sizing and modelling
  • Annual energy yield simulation
  • Bankable / IE-accepted simulation report
  • ROI / payback calculation
  • Public API
  • Product status
  • Delivery model
  • Proposal document generation

Which might suit you

Framed as requirements, not a verdict. Both descriptions come from the same data.

Consider PV*SOL premium if…

  • you need a price you can plan against before talking to sales
  • you need it to connect to tools you already run (20 named)
  • you are comfortable with desktop software and its constraints
  • your work is mostly residential

For European installers, planners, roofers and energy consultants doing residential and commercial rooftop work where realistic 3D shading, battery/EV/heat-pump self-consumption and a presentable customer report matter. Not for utility-scale ground-mount engineering (the published ceiling is 7,500 mounted / 10,000 roof-parallel modules), not for macOS, and not for anyone needing a cloud or multi-user workspace.

Full PV*SOL premium profile

Consider RatedPower (pvDesign) if…

  • AI-assisted workflows matter to you
  • you work at utility scale

For developers, IPPs, EPCs and engineering firms who need to iterate hundreds of utility-scale layouts and carry them through to interconnection and off-taker-ready detailed engineering. Not for anyone who needs a published price (all three tiers are "Talk to sales"), not for rooftop or residential, and not for buyers who need site prospecting outside the specific geographies where Enverus PRISM International data is licensed.

Full RatedPower (pvDesign) profile

Related comparisons

Other options in design & simulation

Frequently asked

What is the main difference between PV*SOL premium and RatedPower (pvDesign)?

They differ most on price published. In total we recorded 23 verified differences and 10 points where they are the same.

Which costs more, PV*SOL premium or RatedPower (pvDesign)?

PV*SOL premium is priced per-seat and RatedPower (pvDesign) is priced quote-only. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.

Is PV*SOL premium or RatedPower (pvDesign) better?

We do not name a winner. Both are described from the same verified data, and which suits you depends on your requirements — the differences above are the facts; the choice is yours.

Last verified

Vendors change pricing and features without notice. Check the vendor’s own page before deciding.

This comparison is generated from the feature database, not written by hand. A pair is only published when the data holds at least five stateable differences — which is why 281 candidate pairs were refused. How comparisons are built