Easy PV
Midsummer
Design & simulation · Web
Comparison
28 differences · 11 identical
The differences that matter most
They differ most on price published. Enact publishes USD 279; RatedPower (pvDesign) publishes Not publicly disclosed. They use different pricing models, so those figures do not compare directly.
We do not name a winner. Below are 28 differences drawn from the same sourced dataset that powers both product pages.
Verified against the vendor’s own pages.
These cannot be compared on a single number
Enact is priced per-seat and RatedPower (pvDesign) is priced quote-only. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.
Enact
USD 279
279 USD per month billed annually
Per seat
2 seats included
10 projects
RatedPower (pvDesign)
Not publicly disclosed
Quote only
Prices are shown exactly as each vendor writes them and are never converted between currencies.
28 differences, ordered by how much they are likely to matter — pricing transparency first, then capabilities the vendor explicitly confirms or denies.
| Capability | Enact | RatedPower (pvDesign) |
|---|---|---|
| Solar design & simulation | ||
| 3D roof and obstruction model | Advanced Verified | — Could not read |
| Annual energy yield simulation | Basic Vendor claim | Advanced Verified |
| Automatic module layout | Basic Vendor claim | Advanced Verified |
| Bankable / IE-accepted simulation report | — Not found | Basic Vendor claim |
| Loss and uncertainty modelling (P50/P90) | Advanced Verified | Basic Vendor claim |
| Manual layout editing | — Could not read | — Verified |
| On-site capture (drone / photogrammetry) | — Not found | — Could not read |
| Shading analysis | — Could not read | Basic Vendor claim |
| Single-line diagram | Advanced Verified | Basic Vendor claim |
| String sizing / stringing | Advanced Verified | — Could not read |
| Proposals & sales | ||
| E-signature | — Could not read | Yes Verified |
| Monitoring & operations | ||
| Production monitoring | Advanced Verified | — Could not read |
| AI & automation | ||
| AI agent / copilot | — Could not read | vendor-claimed Verified |
| AI defect / anomaly detection | vendor-claimed Verified | — Could not read |
| Integrations & extensibility | ||
| Named, documented integrations | 1 Verified | 4 Verified |
| Platform prerequisite | AutoCAD (PVCAD plug-in tier) — or bundled at +$66/month Verified | — Could not read |
| Platform & deployment | ||
| Delivery model | hybrid Verified | software Verified |
| Pricing & commercial terms | ||
| Price published | Partial Verified | Not published Verified |
| Pricing model | per-seat Verified | quote-only Verified |
| Free tier | Not offered Verified | demo-only Verified |
| Entry price | 279 USD per month billed annually Verified | — Could not read |
| Currency | USD Verified | — Could not read |
| Project / design cap | 10 Verified | — Could not read |
| Seat cap | 2 Verified | — Could not read |
| Market fit & availability | ||
| C&I | Yes Verified | No Verified |
| Geographic availability | US; global Verified | global Verified |
| Residential | Yes Verified | No Verified |
| Target buyer | — Could not read | enterprise-epc; developer Verified |
Scroll the table sideways to see both products. The capability column stays in place.
Framed as requirements, not a verdict. Both descriptions come from the same data.
Installers who want one vendor for sales design, permit-grade engineering and post-install monitoring, and who will pay for those as three separate line items. It is not a single unified product: the "end-to-end platform" announced in January 2026 is, as sold on 2026-09-25, three priced modules — one of which still lives on a separate domain under a separate brand, with its own pricing pages that disagree with Enact's. [✓ https://enact.solar/providers/provider-pricing/ · 2026-09-25]
Full Enact profileFor developers, IPPs, EPCs and engineering firms who need to iterate hundreds of utility-scale layouts and carry them through to interconnection and off-taker-ready detailed engineering. Not for anyone who needs a published price (all three tiers are "Talk to sales"), not for rooftop or residential, and not for buyers who need site prospecting outside the specific geographies where Enverus PRISM International data is licensed.
Full RatedPower (pvDesign) profileMidsummer
Design & simulation · Web
SolarEdge Technologies
Design & simulation · Web
National Laboratory of the Rockies (NLR) — formerly the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
Design & simulation · Desktop
They differ most on price published. In total we recorded 28 verified differences and 11 points where they are the same.
Enact is priced per-seat and RatedPower (pvDesign) is priced quote-only. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.
We do not name a winner. Both are described from the same verified data, and which suits you depends on your requirements — the differences above are the facts; the choice is yours.
Last verified
Vendors change pricing and features without notice. Check the vendor’s own page before deciding.
This comparison is generated from the feature database, not written by hand. A pair is only published when the data holds at least five stateable differences — which is why 281 candidate pairs were refused. How comparisons are built