SolarSoftwares
Find Software →

100 products researched 2,422 sourced facts Verified September 2026 Methodology

Comparison

Aurora Solar vs HELIOS 3D

27 differences · 8 identical

Aurora SolarAurora Solar Inc.
Entry price
USD 159
Charged
Per seat
Free tier or trial
No free tier or trial
Named integrations
7
Verified data points
9
HELIOS 3DHelios 3D (a product of STÖHR+SAUER CAD- und Computersystem GmbH)
Entry price
Not publicly disclosed
Charged
Quote only
Free tier or trial
No free tier or trial
Named integrations
1
Verified data points
9

The differences that matter most

  • Price published Partial Not published
  • Pricing model per-seat quote-only
  • Entry price 159 USD per user/month Not established

All 27 differences ↓

Aurora Solar or HELIOS 3D?

They differ most on price published. Aurora Solar publishes USD 159; HELIOS 3D publishes Not publicly disclosed. They use different pricing models, so those figures do not compare directly.

We do not name a winner. Below are 27 differences drawn from the same sourced dataset that powers both product pages.

Verified against the vendor’s own pages.

Pricing

These cannot be compared on a single number

Aurora Solar is priced per-seat and HELIOS 3D is priced quote-only. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.

Aurora Solar

USD 159

159 USD per user/month

Per seat

1 seat included

50 projects

HELIOS 3D

Not publicly disclosed

Quote only

Prices are shown exactly as each vendor writes them and are never converted between currencies.

Where they differ

27 differences, ordered by how much they are likely to matter — pricing transparency first, then capabilities the vendor explicitly confirms or denies.

Legend Verified Vendor claim Not offered Not found Could not read
Differences between Aurora Solar and HELIOS 3D
Capability Aurora Solar HELIOS 3D
Solar design & simulation
Battery sizing and modelling Advanced Verified — Not found
CAD export (DXF/DWG) — Not found Yes Verified
Named weather / irradiance data source — Not found advanced Verified
Single-line diagram — Not found Advanced Verified
Annual energy yield simulation Advanced Verified Basic Vendor claim
Bankable / IE-accepted simulation report Basic Vendor claim — Not found
Ground-mount / tracker layout — Not applicable Advanced Verified
Proposals & sales
E-signature — Could not read — Not found
Proposal document generation Advanced Verified — Could not read
Estimation & financial modelling
ROI / payback calculation Advanced Verified — Not found
Reporting, data & BI
Report / deliverable export — Could not read Advanced Verified
AI & automation
AI design assistance vendor-claimed Verified — Could not read
Integrations & extensibility
Public API Advanced Verified — Not found
Named, documented integrations 7 Verified 1 Verified
Platform & deployment
Delivery model hybrid Verified software Verified
Web application Yes Verified — Could not read
Pricing & commercial terms
Price published Partial Verified Not published Verified
Pricing model per-seat Verified quote-only Verified
Entry price 159 USD per user/month Verified — Could not read
Currency USD Verified — Could not read
Project / design cap 50 Verified — Could not read
Seat cap 1 Verified — Could not read
Market fit & availability
Geographic availability US; CA; EU Verified DE; global Verified
Jurisdictional compliance capability us-nec Verified — Could not read
Residential Yes Verified No Verified
Target buyer small-installer; sales-org Verified enterprise-epc; engineering-firm Verified
Utility-scale No Verified Yes Verified

Scroll the table sideways to see both products. The capability column stays in place.

Where they are the same 8 data points
  • Free tier
  • Automatic module layout
  • Inverter sizing
  • Shading analysis
  • Remote site capture from imagery
  • Loss and uncertainty modelling (P50/P90)
  • Product status
  • C&I

Which might suit you

Framed as requirements, not a verdict. Both descriptions come from the same data.

Consider Aurora Solar if…

  • you need it to connect to tools you already run (7 named)
  • AI-assisted workflows matter to you
  • your work is mostly residential

For residential installers and dealer/sales organisations who need design accuracy and a proposal in the same tool, on a per-seat subscription. Not for utility-scale or large C&I work — the vendor's own navigation routes "Commercial" to a different product (HelioScope), and the Aurora plan tables cap Basic/Premium at 1 user and 50 projects/month.

Full Aurora Solar profile

Consider HELIOS 3D if…

  • you work at utility scale

For utility-scale project developers, EPCs and engineering firms that already own a Civil 3D estate, have IT able to run and back up a SQL Server instance, and need a layout that survives into earthworks and pile-driving coordinates. Not for anyone who wants a browser tool, a price they can read, a trial they can self-serve, a rooftop or residential workflow, or a licence that survives losing a USB stick — the vendor's own help centre says losing the dongle "will result in the irrevocable loss of your license" and recommends buying electronics insurance.

Full HELIOS 3D profile

Related comparisons

Other options in design & simulation

Frequently asked

What is the main difference between Aurora Solar and HELIOS 3D?

They differ most on price published. In total we recorded 27 verified differences and 8 points where they are the same.

Which costs more, Aurora Solar or HELIOS 3D?

Aurora Solar is priced per-seat and HELIOS 3D is priced quote-only. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.

Is Aurora Solar or HELIOS 3D better?

We do not name a winner. Both are described from the same verified data, and which suits you depends on your requirements — the differences above are the facts; the choice is yours.

Last verified

Vendors change pricing and features without notice. Check the vendor’s own page before deciding.

This comparison is generated from the feature database, not written by hand. A pair is only published when the data holds at least five stateable differences — which is why 281 candidate pairs were refused. How comparisons are built