SolarSoftwares
Find Software →

100 products researched 2,422 sourced facts Verified September 2026 Methodology

Comparison

PVsyst vs RatedPower (pvDesign)

24 differences · 10 identical

PVsystPVsyst SA
Entry price
CHF 700
Charged
Per seat
Free tier or trial
Free trial
Named integrations
15
Verified data points
11
RatedPower (pvDesign)RatedPower (part of Enverus)
Entry price
Not publicly disclosed
Charged
Quote only
Free tier or trial
Demo only, no trial
Named integrations
4
Verified data points
9

The differences that matter most

  • Price published Published Not published
  • Pricing model per-seat quote-only
  • Free tier free-trial demo-only

All 24 differences ↓

PVsyst or RatedPower (pvDesign)?

They differ most on price published. PVsyst publishes CHF 700; RatedPower (pvDesign) publishes Not publicly disclosed. They use different pricing models, so those figures do not compare directly.

We do not name a winner. Below are 24 differences drawn from the same sourced dataset that powers both product pages.

Verified against the vendor’s own pages.

Pricing

These cannot be compared on a single number

PVsyst is priced per-seat and RatedPower (pvDesign) is priced quote-only. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.

PVsyst

CHF 700

700 CHF per year

Per seat

RatedPower (pvDesign)

Not publicly disclosed

Quote only

Prices are shown exactly as each vendor writes them and are never converted between currencies.

Where they differ

24 differences, ordered by how much they are likely to matter — pricing transparency first, then capabilities the vendor explicitly confirms or denies.

Legend Verified Vendor claim Not offered Not found Could not read
Differences between PVsyst and RatedPower (pvDesign)
Capability PVsyst RatedPower (pvDesign)
Solar design & simulation
Named weather / irradiance data source advanced Verified — Not found
Bankable / IE-accepted simulation report — Not found Basic Vendor claim
CAD export (DXF/DWG) Yes Vendor claim Yes Verified
Inverter sizing Advanced Verified — Could not read
Loss and uncertainty modelling (P50/P90) — Not found Basic Vendor claim
Manual layout editing — Could not read — Verified
Shading analysis Advanced Verified Basic Vendor claim
Single-line diagram — Not found Basic Vendor claim
Proposals & sales
E-signature — Could not read Yes Verified
Proposal document generation — Could not read Advanced Verified
Reporting, data & BI
Report / deliverable export Advanced Verified — Could not read
AI & automation
AI agent / copilot — Could not read vendor-claimed Verified
Integrations & extensibility
Named, documented integrations 15 Verified 4 Verified
Public API Advanced Verified Basic Vendor claim
Platform & deployment
Desktop OS support Windows 8/10/11 32/64-bit; NOT Citrix, Remote Desktop, Azure Virtual Desktop; workspace cannot sit on OneDrive/Google Drive/Dropbox Verified — Could not read
Web application No Verified Yes Verified
Pricing & commercial terms
Price published Published Verified Not published Verified
Pricing model per-seat Verified quote-only Verified
Free tier free-trial Verified demo-only Verified
Entry price 700 CHF per year Verified — Could not read
Currency CHF Verified — Could not read
Market fit & availability
C&I Yes Verified No Verified
Residential Yes Verified No Verified
Target buyer engineering-firm; small-installer Verified enterprise-epc; developer Verified

Scroll the table sideways to see both products. The capability column stays in place.

Where they are the same 10 data points
  • Automatic module layout
  • Ground-mount / tracker layout
  • Remote site capture from imagery
  • Battery sizing and modelling
  • Annual energy yield simulation
  • ROI / payback calculation
  • Geographic availability
  • Product status
  • Utility-scale
  • Delivery model

Which might suit you

Framed as requirements, not a verdict. Both descriptions come from the same data.

Consider PVsyst if…

  • you need a price you can plan against before talking to sales
  • you need it to connect to tools you already run (15 named)
  • you are comfortable with desktop software and its constraints
  • you work at utility scale
  • your work is mostly residential

For engineers and IEs who need a yield number a bank will accept and are willing to work in a single-machine desktop tool. Not for anyone who needs macOS, a browser, a shared cloud workspace, a terminal-server deployment, or a sales proposal — the vendor explicitly excludes servers, Citrix, Remote Desktop, Azure Virtual Desktop, Windows Enterprise editions and cloud-synced folders, and sells no CRM or proposal module at all.

Full PVsyst profile

Consider RatedPower (pvDesign) if…

  • AI-assisted workflows matter to you
  • you work at utility scale

For developers, IPPs, EPCs and engineering firms who need to iterate hundreds of utility-scale layouts and carry them through to interconnection and off-taker-ready detailed engineering. Not for anyone who needs a published price (all three tiers are "Talk to sales"), not for rooftop or residential, and not for buyers who need site prospecting outside the specific geographies where Enverus PRISM International data is licensed.

Full RatedPower (pvDesign) profile

Related comparisons

Other options in design & simulation

Frequently asked

What is the main difference between PVsyst and RatedPower (pvDesign)?

They differ most on price published. In total we recorded 24 verified differences and 10 points where they are the same.

Which costs more, PVsyst or RatedPower (pvDesign)?

PVsyst is priced per-seat and RatedPower (pvDesign) is priced quote-only. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.

Is PVsyst or RatedPower (pvDesign) better?

We do not name a winner. Both are described from the same verified data, and which suits you depends on your requirements — the differences above are the facts; the choice is yours.

Last verified

Vendors change pricing and features without notice. Check the vendor’s own page before deciding.

This comparison is generated from the feature database, not written by hand. A pair is only published when the data holds at least five stateable differences — which is why 281 candidate pairs were refused. How comparisons are built