Easy PV
Midsummer
Design & simulation · Web
Comparison
21 differences · 11 identical
The differences that matter most
They differ most on price published. PlantPredict publishes Could not verify; RatedPower (pvDesign) publishes Not publicly disclosed. They use different pricing models, so those figures do not compare directly.
We do not name a winner. Below are 21 differences drawn from the same sourced dataset that powers both product pages.
Verified against the vendor’s own pages.
These cannot be compared on a single number
PlantPredict is priced on an unrecorded basis and RatedPower (pvDesign) is priced quote-only. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.
PlantPredict
Could not verify
Model not established
RatedPower (pvDesign)
Not publicly disclosed
Quote only
Prices are shown exactly as each vendor writes them and are never converted between currencies.
21 differences, ordered by how much they are likely to matter — pricing transparency first, then capabilities the vendor explicitly confirms or denies.
| Capability | PlantPredict | RatedPower (pvDesign) |
|---|---|---|
| Solar design & simulation | ||
| Bankable / IE-accepted simulation report | Advanced Verified | Basic Vendor claim |
| CAD export (DXF/DWG) | Yes Vendor claim | Yes Verified |
| Loss and uncertainty modelling (P50/P90) | Advanced Verified | Basic Vendor claim |
| Manual layout editing | — Could not read | — Verified |
| Named weather / irradiance data source | basic Vendor claim | — Not found |
| Shading analysis | Advanced Verified | Basic Vendor claim |
| Single-line diagram | — Not found | Basic Vendor claim |
| String sizing / stringing | Advanced Verified | — Could not read |
| Proposals & sales | ||
| E-signature | — Could not read | Yes Verified |
| Proposal document generation | — Could not read | Advanced Verified |
| Reporting, data & BI | ||
| Report / deliverable export | Advanced Verified | — Could not read |
| AI & automation | ||
| AI agent / copilot | Not offered Verified | vendor-claimed Verified |
| Integrations & extensibility | ||
| MCP server | — Verified | — Could not read |
| Named, documented integrations | — Could not read | 4 Verified |
| Public API | Advanced Verified | Basic Vendor claim |
| Platform & deployment | ||
| Web application | — Could not read | Yes Verified |
| Pricing & commercial terms | ||
| Price published | — Could not read | Not published Verified |
| Pricing model | — Could not read | quote-only Verified |
| Free tier | — Could not read | demo-only Verified |
| Market fit & availability | ||
| Geographic availability | US; global Verified | global Verified |
| Target buyer | — Could not read | enterprise-epc; developer Verified |
Scroll the table sideways to see both products. The capability column stays in place.
Framed as requirements, not a verdict. Both descriptions come from the same data.
For utility-scale energy modellers and IEs who want a browser tool with unlimited projects, a documented algorithm set their lender's IE can audit, and automation. **Not for residential or C&I rooftop sales work, not for** teams that need layout-to-construction CAD (Design Pro is GIS-based, not an AutoCAD product), and not for anyone taking the site's structured data at face value — its schema publishes a price that its own pricing page contradicts.
Full PlantPredict profileFor developers, IPPs, EPCs and engineering firms who need to iterate hundreds of utility-scale layouts and carry them through to interconnection and off-taker-ready detailed engineering. Not for anyone who needs a published price (all three tiers are "Talk to sales"), not for rooftop or residential, and not for buyers who need site prospecting outside the specific geographies where Enverus PRISM International data is licensed.
Full RatedPower (pvDesign) profileMidsummer
Design & simulation · Web
SolarEdge Technologies
Design & simulation · Web
National Laboratory of the Rockies (NLR) — formerly the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
Design & simulation · Desktop
They differ most on price published. In total we recorded 21 verified differences and 11 points where they are the same.
PlantPredict is priced on an unrecorded basis and RatedPower (pvDesign) is priced quote-only. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.
We do not name a winner. Both are described from the same verified data, and which suits you depends on your requirements — the differences above are the facts; the choice is yours.
Last verified
Vendors change pricing and features without notice. Check the vendor’s own page before deciding.
This comparison is generated from the feature database, not written by hand. A pair is only published when the data holds at least five stateable differences — which is why 281 candidate pairs were refused. How comparisons are built