SolarSoftwares
Find Software →

100 products researched 2,422 sourced facts Verified September 2026 Methodology

Comparison

HelioScope vs RatedPower (pvDesign)

26 differences · 12 identical

HelioScopeAurora Solar Inc. (acquired Folsom Labs, 2019)
Entry price
USD 159
Charged
Capacity tiered
Free tier or trial
Free trial
Named integrations
1
Verified data points
12
RatedPower (pvDesign)RatedPower (part of Enverus)
Entry price
Not publicly disclosed
Charged
Quote only
Free tier or trial
Demo only, no trial
Named integrations
4
Verified data points
9

The differences that matter most

  • Price published Partial Not published
  • Pricing model capacity-tiered quote-only
  • Free tier free-trial demo-only

All 26 differences ↓

HelioScope or RatedPower (pvDesign)?

They differ most on price published. HelioScope publishes USD 159; RatedPower (pvDesign) publishes Not publicly disclosed. They use different pricing models, so those figures do not compare directly.

We do not name a winner. Below are 26 differences drawn from the same sourced dataset that powers both product pages.

Verified against the vendor’s own pages.

Pricing

These cannot be compared on a single number

HelioScope is priced capacity-tiered and RatedPower (pvDesign) is priced quote-only. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.

HelioScope

USD 159

159 USD per licence/month

Capacity tiered

Size ceiling: 1.25 MW DC (Basic) / 5 MW (Pro) / 30 MW (Enterprise)

1 seat included

10 projects

RatedPower (pvDesign)

Not publicly disclosed

Quote only

Prices are shown exactly as each vendor writes them and are never converted between currencies.

Where they differ

26 differences, ordered by how much they are likely to matter — pricing transparency first, then capabilities the vendor explicitly confirms or denies.

Legend Verified Vendor claim Not offered Not found Could not read
Differences between HelioScope and RatedPower (pvDesign)
Capability HelioScope RatedPower (pvDesign)
Solar design & simulation
Export to other simulation tools none Verified — Could not read
Ground-mount / tracker layout Not offered Verified Advanced Verified
Inverter sizing Basic Vendor claim — Could not read
Loss and uncertainty modelling (P50/P90) Advanced Verified Basic Vendor claim
Manual layout editing — Could not read — Verified
Named weather / irradiance data source basic Vendor claim — Not found
Shading analysis Advanced Verified Basic Vendor claim
Single-line diagram Advanced Verified Basic Vendor claim
Proposals & sales
E-signature — Verified Yes Verified
AI & automation
AI agent / copilot — Could not read vendor-claimed Verified
AI defect / anomaly detection not-claimed Not found — Could not read
AI design assistance vendor-claimed Verified — Could not read
Integrations & extensibility
Named, documented integrations 1 Verified 4 Verified
Public API Advanced Verified Basic Vendor claim
Pricing & commercial terms
Price published Partial Verified Not published Verified
Pricing model capacity-tiered Verified quote-only Verified
Free tier free-trial Verified demo-only Verified
Entry price 159 USD per licence/month Verified — Could not read
Currency USD Verified — Could not read
Project / design cap 10 Verified — Could not read
Seat cap 1 Verified — Could not read
System size cap 1.25 MW DC (Basic) / 5 MW (Pro) / 30 MW (Enterprise) Verified — Could not read
Market fit & availability
C&I Yes Verified No Verified
Geographic availability US; global Verified global Verified
Target buyer small-installer; engineering-firm Verified enterprise-epc; developer Verified
Utility-scale No Verified Yes Verified

Scroll the table sideways to see both products. The capability column stays in place.

Where they are the same 12 data points
  • Automatic module layout
  • CAD export (DXF/DWG)
  • Remote site capture from imagery
  • Battery sizing and modelling
  • Annual energy yield simulation
  • Bankable / IE-accepted simulation report
  • ROI / payback calculation
  • Product status
  • Residential
  • Delivery model
  • Web application
  • Proposal document generation

Which might suit you

Framed as requirements, not a verdict. Both descriptions come from the same data.

Consider HelioScope if…

  • your systems fit within 1.25 MW DC (Basic) / 5 MW (Pro) / 30 MW (Enterprise)
  • AI-assisted workflows matter to you

For C&I designers and engineers who need a layout, a bankable-grade production estimate and a sales proposal without leaving one tool. Not for residential one-roof sales work (the same vendor routes that to Aurora) and not for jobs above 30 MW DC — the vendor publishes a hard design-size cap on every tier.

Full HelioScope profile

Consider RatedPower (pvDesign) if…

  • AI-assisted workflows matter to you
  • you work at utility scale

For developers, IPPs, EPCs and engineering firms who need to iterate hundreds of utility-scale layouts and carry them through to interconnection and off-taker-ready detailed engineering. Not for anyone who needs a published price (all three tiers are "Talk to sales"), not for rooftop or residential, and not for buyers who need site prospecting outside the specific geographies where Enverus PRISM International data is licensed.

Full RatedPower (pvDesign) profile

Related comparisons

Other options in design & simulation

Frequently asked

What is the main difference between HelioScope and RatedPower (pvDesign)?

They differ most on price published. In total we recorded 26 verified differences and 12 points where they are the same.

Which costs more, HelioScope or RatedPower (pvDesign)?

HelioScope is priced capacity-tiered and RatedPower (pvDesign) is priced quote-only. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.

Is HelioScope or RatedPower (pvDesign) better?

We do not name a winner. Both are described from the same verified data, and which suits you depends on your requirements — the differences above are the facts; the choice is yours.

Last verified

Vendors change pricing and features without notice. Check the vendor’s own page before deciding.

This comparison is generated from the feature database, not written by hand. A pair is only published when the data holds at least five stateable differences — which is why 281 candidate pairs were refused. How comparisons are built