Easy PV
Midsummer
Design & simulation · Web
Comparison
18 differences · 13 identical
The differences that matter most
They differ most on price published. HELIOS 3D publishes Not publicly disclosed; Solargis Evaluate publishes EUR 12000. They use different pricing models, so those figures do not compare directly.
We do not name a winner. Below are 18 differences drawn from the same sourced dataset that powers both product pages.
Verified against the vendor’s own pages.
These cannot be compared on a single number
HELIOS 3D is priced quote-only and Solargis Evaluate is priced per-seat. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.
HELIOS 3D
Not publicly disclosed
Quote only
Solargis Evaluate
EUR 12000
12000 EUR subscription
Per seat
60 projects
Prices are shown exactly as each vendor writes them and are never converted between currencies.
18 differences, ordered by how much they are likely to matter — pricing transparency first, then capabilities the vendor explicitly confirms or denies.
| Capability | HELIOS 3D | Solargis Evaluate |
|---|---|---|
| Solar design & simulation | ||
| CAD export (DXF/DWG) | Yes Verified | — Not found |
| Loss and uncertainty modelling (P50/P90) | — Not found | Basic Verified |
| Single-line diagram | Advanced Verified | — Not found |
| Annual energy yield simulation | Basic Vendor claim | Advanced Verified |
| Bankable / IE-accepted simulation report | — Not found | Basic Vendor claim |
| Inverter sizing | Advanced Verified | — Could not read |
| Integrations & extensibility | ||
| Named, documented integrations | 1 Verified | 0 Verified |
| Public API | — Not found | Basic Vendor claim |
| Platform & deployment | ||
| Delivery model | software Verified | hybrid Verified |
| Web application | — Could not read | Yes Verified |
| Pricing & commercial terms | ||
| Price published | Not published Verified | Published Verified |
| Pricing model | quote-only Verified | per-seat Verified |
| Entry price | — Could not read | 12000 EUR subscription Verified |
| Currency | — Could not read | EUR Verified |
| Project / design cap | — Could not read | 60 Verified |
| Market fit & availability | ||
| C&I | No Verified | Yes Verified |
| Geographic availability | DE; global Verified | global Verified |
| Target buyer | enterprise-epc; engineering-firm Verified | developer Verified |
Scroll the table sideways to see both products. The capability column stays in place.
Framed as requirements, not a verdict. Both descriptions come from the same data.
For utility-scale project developers, EPCs and engineering firms that already own a Civil 3D estate, have IT able to run and back up a SQL Server instance, and need a layout that survives into earthworks and pile-driving coordinates. Not for anyone who wants a browser tool, a price they can read, a trial they can self-serve, a rooftop or residential workflow, or a licence that survives losing a USB stick — the vendor's own help centre says losing the dongle "will result in the irrevocable loss of your license" and recommends buying electronics insurance.
Full HELIOS 3D profileFor utility-scale developers, engineers and IEs who are already buying Solargis data and want the design and simulation layer on top of it, with reports investors accept. Not for residential or rooftop sales work, not for anyone needing CAD/construction deliverables, and not for small teams — the published entry subscription is €12,000 and the project allowance is 60 "Early Stage" projects.
Full Solargis Evaluate profileMidsummer
Design & simulation · Web
SolarEdge Technologies
Design & simulation · Web
National Laboratory of the Rockies (NLR) — formerly the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
Design & simulation · Desktop
They differ most on price published. In total we recorded 18 verified differences and 13 points where they are the same.
HELIOS 3D is priced quote-only and Solargis Evaluate is priced per-seat. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.
We do not name a winner. Both are described from the same verified data, and which suits you depends on your requirements — the differences above are the facts; the choice is yours.
Last verified
Vendors change pricing and features without notice. Check the vendor’s own page before deciding.
This comparison is generated from the feature database, not written by hand. A pair is only published when the data holds at least five stateable differences — which is why 281 candidate pairs were refused. How comparisons are built