SolarSoftwares
Find Software →

100 products researched 2,422 sourced facts Verified September 2026 Methodology

Comparison

HELIOS 3D vs HelioScope

28 differences · 9 identical

HELIOS 3DHelios 3D (a product of STÖHR+SAUER CAD- und Computersystem GmbH)
Entry price
Not publicly disclosed
Charged
Quote only
Free tier or trial
No free tier or trial
Named integrations
1
Verified data points
9
HelioScopeAurora Solar Inc. (acquired Folsom Labs, 2019)
Entry price
USD 159
Charged
Capacity tiered
Free tier or trial
Free trial
Named integrations
1
Verified data points
12

The differences that matter most

  • Price published Not published Partial
  • Pricing model quote-only capacity-tiered
  • Free tier Not offered free-trial

All 28 differences ↓

HELIOS 3D or HelioScope?

They differ most on price published. HELIOS 3D publishes Not publicly disclosed; HelioScope publishes USD 159. They use different pricing models, so those figures do not compare directly.

We do not name a winner. Below are 28 differences drawn from the same sourced dataset that powers both product pages.

Verified against the vendor’s own pages.

Pricing

These cannot be compared on a single number

HELIOS 3D is priced quote-only and HelioScope is priced capacity-tiered. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.

HELIOS 3D

Not publicly disclosed

Quote only

HelioScope

USD 159

159 USD per licence/month

Capacity tiered

Size ceiling: 1.25 MW DC (Basic) / 5 MW (Pro) / 30 MW (Enterprise)

1 seat included

10 projects

Prices are shown exactly as each vendor writes them and are never converted between currencies.

Where they differ

28 differences, ordered by how much they are likely to matter — pricing transparency first, then capabilities the vendor explicitly confirms or denies.

Legend Verified Vendor claim Not offered Not found Could not read
Differences between HELIOS 3D and HelioScope
Capability HELIOS 3D HelioScope
Solar design & simulation
Battery sizing and modelling — Not found Advanced Verified
Loss and uncertainty modelling (P50/P90) — Not found Advanced Verified
Annual energy yield simulation Basic Vendor claim Advanced Verified
Bankable / IE-accepted simulation report — Not found Basic Vendor claim
Export to other simulation tools — Could not read none Verified
Ground-mount / tracker layout Advanced Verified Not offered Verified
Inverter sizing Advanced Verified Basic Vendor claim
Named weather / irradiance data source advanced Verified basic Vendor claim
Proposals & sales
E-signature — Not found — Verified
Proposal document generation — Could not read Advanced Verified
Estimation & financial modelling
ROI / payback calculation — Not found Advanced Verified
Reporting, data & BI
Report / deliverable export Advanced Verified — Could not read
AI & automation
AI defect / anomaly detection — Could not read not-claimed Not found
AI design assistance — Could not read vendor-claimed Verified
Integrations & extensibility
Public API — Not found Advanced Verified
Platform & deployment
Web application — Could not read Yes Verified
Pricing & commercial terms
Price published Not published Verified Partial Verified
Pricing model quote-only Verified capacity-tiered Verified
Free tier Not offered Verified free-trial Verified
Entry price — Could not read 159 USD per licence/month Verified
Currency — Could not read USD Verified
Project / design cap — Could not read 10 Verified
Seat cap — Could not read 1 Verified
System size cap — Could not read 1.25 MW DC (Basic) / 5 MW (Pro) / 30 MW (Enterprise) Verified
Market fit & availability
C&I No Verified Yes Verified
Geographic availability DE; global Verified US; global Verified
Target buyer enterprise-epc; engineering-firm Verified small-installer; engineering-firm Verified
Utility-scale Yes Verified No Verified

Scroll the table sideways to see both products. The capability column stays in place.

Where they are the same 9 data points
  • Automatic module layout
  • Single-line diagram
  • CAD export (DXF/DWG)
  • Shading analysis
  • Remote site capture from imagery
  • Named, documented integrations
  • Product status
  • Residential
  • Delivery model

Which might suit you

Framed as requirements, not a verdict. Both descriptions come from the same data.

Consider HELIOS 3D if…

  • you work at utility scale

For utility-scale project developers, EPCs and engineering firms that already own a Civil 3D estate, have IT able to run and back up a SQL Server instance, and need a layout that survives into earthworks and pile-driving coordinates. Not for anyone who wants a browser tool, a price they can read, a trial they can self-serve, a rooftop or residential workflow, or a licence that survives losing a USB stick — the vendor's own help centre says losing the dongle "will result in the irrevocable loss of your license" and recommends buying electronics insurance.

Full HELIOS 3D profile

Consider HelioScope if…

  • your systems fit within 1.25 MW DC (Basic) / 5 MW (Pro) / 30 MW (Enterprise)
  • AI-assisted workflows matter to you

For C&I designers and engineers who need a layout, a bankable-grade production estimate and a sales proposal without leaving one tool. Not for residential one-roof sales work (the same vendor routes that to Aurora) and not for jobs above 30 MW DC — the vendor publishes a hard design-size cap on every tier.

Full HelioScope profile

Related comparisons

Other options in design & simulation

Frequently asked

What is the main difference between HELIOS 3D and HelioScope?

They differ most on price published. In total we recorded 28 verified differences and 9 points where they are the same.

Which costs more, HELIOS 3D or HelioScope?

HELIOS 3D is priced quote-only and HelioScope is priced capacity-tiered. These are different pricing models, so a single side-by-side figure would be misleading. Each is shown as its vendor states it.

Is HELIOS 3D or HelioScope better?

We do not name a winner. Both are described from the same verified data, and which suits you depends on your requirements — the differences above are the facts; the choice is yours.

Last verified

Vendors change pricing and features without notice. Check the vendor’s own page before deciding.

This comparison is generated from the feature database, not written by hand. A pair is only published when the data holds at least five stateable differences — which is why 281 candidate pairs were refused. How comparisons are built